Wifi was much better under Linpus, anyone know why ?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by alictait, Feb 6, 2009.

1. alictait

alictait

Hi Guys,

As a Linux newbie I tried to stick with the O/s when I bought my new A1, however after having issues doing some of the things you take for granted on a windows pc I decided to install XP as I had a spare XP home license.

As soon as I installed Xp I noticed a huge deficiency in the performance of the Atheros wireless card compared to Linux. On investigation I found that switching off Power saving via device manager improved it slightly as did updating to the latest drivers and latest Bios. Now however although I am not getting any issues with the signal dropping ( I was at start), the signal is nowhere near as good as it was with Linux. Is it just that the Atheros was designed to work with Linux and it doesn't like XP or what ??? Under Linux I was picking up several signals from my neighbours, but now only find my own router.

Has anyone else experienced this?, and if so managed to rectify ?

Thanks in advance

Ali

alictait, Feb 6, 2009
  2. alictait

steven.chien

Hi!