Which OS do you prefer and why?

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by ...BeAkEr..., Aug 28, 2008.

1. ...BeAkEr...

...BeAkEr...

Myself I prefer Windows, mainly because I have very little experience using anything else.

I'm running Vista because it's more compatible with my other PC's

...BeAkEr..., Aug 28, 2008
  2. ...BeAkEr...

rebuilder

Linux - the desktop experience is clean and fast and easily customizable.

rebuilder, Aug 28, 2008
  3. ...BeAkEr...

Oliver

I'm running windows XP on my A1. So i guess i prefer it. more app support. better support with my other pcs. i just generally prefer it.

boot time isnt great at the moment though. i think im getting ~ 1minute 5 seconds
    what boot times to other people have?

Oliver, Aug 28, 2008
  4. ...BeAkEr...

Achilles

Prefer Win/XP at the monet simply because I have a lots of apps that I can't easily run in Linux (yes I know about Wine but it doesn't seem to work properly for a lot of applications). Also, support for drivers in Linux seems to be relatively poor.

The other problem I have had with Linux is that a lot of features are hidden behind an arcane command line interface that makes it difficult to get everything set up properly.

However if I can sort out these problems I will move over. I already have Ubuntu running on a dual boot on my desktop and will probably also set up Ubuntu on my One (which I prefer to my experiences so far with Linpus).

Achilles, Aug 28, 2008
  5. ...BeAkEr...

...BeAkEr...

are u serious? 1 minute 5 seconds???

I'm getting about 25 seconds!

6. ...BeAkEr...

fateastray

i get about a minute too. I only have 1Gb RAM, but that's just because a screw in my MoBo is stuck and broken -_- The last screw...stuck for life...

fateastray, Aug 28, 2008
  7. ...BeAkEr...

...BeAkEr...

well i'm running a 150 vlite'd vista w/ 1.5gb of ram, maybe that makes a difference

8. ...BeAkEr...

gbee