What are the features you look for in a gaming laptop

Discussion in 'Laptop General Discussion' started by CaptainOblivious, Apr 11, 2016.

1. CaptainOblivious

CaptainOblivious

I am currently using a Dell XPS 15 and even though it has served me well, I'd like to move on now. So, I'd like your views on what to look for when buying a gaming laptop. The one main feature I am looking for is acceptable battery life, as I am a developer and sometimes it is difficult to find a power outlet.

Games I play are Battlefield, CS:GO and Counterstrike. Also suggestions on good deals are welcome!

CaptainOblivious, Apr 11, 2016
  2. CaptainOblivious

spence88

Silent cooling operation. I don't like it when my laptop fans emit this whirring noise at heavy loads. I've read reviews of certain gaming laptops. They monitor how loud the fans are at heavy loads, some reach 50 decibels which is definitely not pleasant at all. 40 decibels is what I look at, 45 is ok but kinda pushing it.

Matte screen. This is more of a personal preference thing. I just like matte better.

At least a 15-inch screen. Anything below is ok too, but 15 is the sweet spot.

Resolution of course. 1080p is a must.

Battery life not so much, it's not suggested to game with battery only. Batteries normally can't give your gaming laptop enough power for it to run at its full capacity, so more often than not, you'll just experience stuttery gameplay.

The specs depend on the budget of course. :)

spence88, Apr 12, 2016
  3. CaptainOblivious

CaptainOblivious

Hey thanks for that suggestion! It had not really crossed my mind and I can see how it could be a deal breaker for me. It isn't a big deal for me currently, as I can throttle the fan speed manually, but I'll still look out for it!

CaptainOblivious, Apr 12, 2016
    spence88 likes this.
  4. CaptainOblivious

spence88

Sure man no problem!

I also forgot about the storage, although it's under the specs suggestion, I'll give it special attention.