Weird screen issue after RAM installlation?

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by svensko, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. svensko

    svensko

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed a one gig stick today and ran into a problem. Ended up having to go back in and reseat the SDD cables and then it seemed to work fine except that the screen was running a quarter of the size it should. Even on boot it runs as though it is a standard LCD and not a widescreen. At the home screen I am greeted with a nice black bar taking up a quarter of my screen and the bottom quarter of the usable portion of the screen is just cloning the top quarter of the screen.

    Should I try to reseat the LCD ribbon?

    Edit: I just tried rebooting (this is like my 5th time) and now it is in widescreen mode. I'm so lost. :x
     
    svensko, Aug 13, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. svensko

    Darren198712

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    take a pic of it :). have you tried to reinstalling the drivers ? if that does not work try the LCD ribbon
     
    Darren198712, Aug 14, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. svensko

    svensko

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    If anyone cares, I took my One apart again and try disconnecting/reconnecting components until i could get the screen to show correctly for ~20 boots. I don't know how but i reseated my SDD and it hasn't given me any issues since. Hopefully I won't be updating this thread again. :lol:
     
    svensko, Aug 16, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.