Virtual Private Network Client

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by TS., Aug 17, 2008.

1. TS.

TS.

I am a serious Linux newbie, but I am trying to learn. I got my AA1 primarily to use at school for taking notes and browsing the internet. The wireless network at my university requires a vpn client to get online. There is one that they have on their website (the Cisco VPN client) that I have tried and failed to make work. I have now, in concert with an online friend of mine who is quite knowledgeable about Linux (though not the Linpus Linux Lite distro in particular) tried to make the NetworkManager vpn client work, but I am getting a message about two settings files in the "desktop directories" files that are conflicting.

Can anyone please help me with this? If I can't make the VPN client work, then this computer, much as I love it for almost everything else, becomes a major liability for me, and I will have to return it to the store and get something that will work.

TS., Aug 17, 2008
  2. TS.

emo

Hi..
    this are the steps:
    0.-instal vpnc client:
    sudo yum install vpnc
    1.-Download tun module from here (http://www.twimba.com/blogs/luis/wp-con ... 08/tun.zip)
    2.-unzip and copy to de kernel driver:
    cp tun.ko /lib/modules/2.6.23.9lw/kernel/drivers/net/
    3.-install de mdule with:
    sudo depmod -a
    (corrected, in the original message i put depmode instead of depmod ;-))))
    and test it with

modprobe tun

That's all....

you must configure your_conection.conf
    sudo vim /etc/vpnc/<name_of_ur_conection>.conf

IPSec gateway <gateway>
    IPSec ID <group>
    IPSec secret <group_password>
    Xauth username <username>
    domain <domain_name>

and start vpnc with
    sudo vpnc <your conection .conf file>

regards
    happy user with original xfce4 instead original linpus desktop

;-)

you can watch my video on youtube launching the vpnc client an the conecting to a vnc server (windows 2003)