Using modded version of vista or xp in aao 8GB

Discussion in 'Windows' started by marcelnyo, Aug 31, 2008.

1. marcelnyo

marcelnyo

Hi, I'm very new to the AAO 8GB and I have to install windows on it becos my girlfriend is the one who will use it.
    I've been surfing the net and found this forum, and several modded version of windows, the expee lite, expee performance edition, vis*a ultimate ultra lite, and tiny vis*a...

so far the tiny vista is something I preferred becos I'd like to install vista in the AAO 8GB because of extended battery life. can this be done? has anyone tried this before? don't mind sharing me your reviews?

can I install the full vista ultimate edition on a 8GB AAO? because in the neighbor thread someone said that he successfully installed vista ultimate, and it's running quite fast too.

Please share your thoughts

thanks ^^

marcelnyo, Aug 31, 2008
  2. marcelnyo

Tavel

it will work, but the SSD is super slow. You'll probably want to move the system cache to an SD card (I haven't done this yet)...and probably some of your more commonly used programs, which i have done.

I just installed windows XP and it would works just great...unless it needs to use the hard drive lol. Firefox took about 15 seconds to launch, but I moved it over to an SD card and it takes 3 seconds -- which is even faster than a standard hard drive! It also works much faster, no hiccups or anything as long as browser cache is set to 0mb...otherwise the slow SSD slows everything down.

Also, that was just preliminary testing on an old 512mb "33x" flash card. I immediately ordered a 4gb class 6 SDHC, I plan to move the system cache and my most commonly used programs (firefox, thunderbird, and pidgin) to the SD card.

Tavel, Aug 31, 2008
  3. marcelnyo

marcelnyo