USB Flash Disk - Not Detected in File Manager

Discussion in 'Linux' started by alex.gemaraz, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. alex.gemaraz

    alex.gemaraz

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    As a newbie in linux I found problem with USB afterr updating libusb libusb-devel following one of the advise to connect modem, my AAO 110 Linpus cannot detect USB flash disk (thumb drive).

    When using lsusb shown detected as root (?). mouse, printer, and usb modem (when connected) no issue, everything work perfectly but not USB flash disk!

    lsusb
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0951:1607 Kingston Technology
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 064e:d101 Acer Crystal Eye Webcam
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    [user@localhost ~]$

    following all possible forum and messages with such instruction:
    mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/usb did not give better result.

    When check /etc/fstab shown per below --- I did not know what to do since I am new...
    /dev/sda1 / ext2 defaults,noatime 1 1
    none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
    none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
    none /proc proc defaults 0 0
    none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
    #none /tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0
    /dev/sda2 swap swap defaults 0 0

    I did not put up dmesg result since so mess-up or I did not understand it :mrgreen:

    Could someone help to advise?
    Rest I am pretty happy with this AAO 8.9" linpus with all "improvement" and additional software such as vlc, skype, amarok, gimp, dia, xmame, open office etc.

    Thx before, Alex Gemaraz
     
    alex.gemaraz, Feb 11, 2009
    #1
  2. alex.gemaraz

    Japser

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could do a dmesg, then plugin the drive and do a dmesg again, and post the new lines.

    --J.
     
    Japser, Feb 11, 2009
    #2
  3. alex.gemaraz

    dloomis514

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    To get my 'webcam' to work I go into My Computer and double click on it, it just takes photos as best i can tell.
     
    dloomis514, Feb 11, 2009
    #3
  4. alex.gemaraz

    ronime

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    WTF?
     
    ronime, Feb 11, 2009
    #4
  5. alex.gemaraz

    alex.gemaraz

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Japser, when do dmesg without USB flash disk, below is the end message:

    aufs test_add:377:mount[7786]: uid/gid/perm /tmp/posixdir 500/0/0755, 500/500/0755
    usb 1-1: USB disconnect, address 4
    [user@localhost ~]$

    After plug an USB, Kingston, below is the new end line:

    aufs test_add:377:mount[7786]: uid/gid/perm /tmp/posixdir 500/0/0755, 500/500/0755
    usb 1-1: USB disconnect, address 4
    -----------------------------------------------(new line as follows):
    usb 1-1: new high speed USB device using ehci_hcd and address 5
    usb 1-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
    scsi5 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
    usb-storage: device found at 5
    usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning
    usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
    USB Mass Storage support registered.
    usbcore: deregistering interface driver usb-storage
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor'
    [user@localhost ~]$
    Note:
    Also very confuse with so many lines: usbserial: Unknown parameter `vendor' (inclusive from original dmesg).

    How to make it right --- really appreciate for advise. Thx, AG
     
    alex.gemaraz, Feb 11, 2009
    #5
  6. alex.gemaraz

    mattytee

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, this:
    Code:
    mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/usb
    won't work; you're telling the machine to mount your internal SSD as a VFAT volume (it's ext2) at /mnt/usb (it's already mounted at /). Plus, I don't think /mnt/usb exists by default.

    But you're most of the way there. Instead, do:
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    You'll see /dev/sda, your SSD block device, along with sda1 and sda2, which are partitions on your SSD, and then something else, probably /dev/sdb, which'll be the USB stick block device. It may have many partitions listed under it. (/dev/mmcblk prefixes will indicate SD cards; ignore those.)

    Try to mount it with:
    Code:
    sudo mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /mnt/windows
    (changing /dev/sdb1 to whatever your device name was from fdisk listing). Remember, put the 1 on the end to specify the partition as opposed to the block device. Also, are you sure the USB stick is FAT32? It probably is, but you're stating that explicitly by specifying vfat as the filesystem type in that command. Try without the "-t vfat" flag if you run into errors.

    If that works OK and you can see the files on it (try
    Code:
    ls -a /mnt/windows/
    to make sure it's actually mounted), then you can troubleshoot the automount issue.

    My guess is, it's a permissions issue. You could sort that out by putting an entry into /etc/fstab that sets the permissions correctly.
     
    mattytee, Feb 12, 2009
    #6
  7. alex.gemaraz

    alex.gemaraz

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    The problem is no 'sdb" in my system, below is the fdisk -l:

    [user@localhost ~]$ sudo fdisk -l
    audit_log_user_command(): Connection refused

    Disk /dev/sda: 8069 MB, 8069677056 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 981 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 850 6827593+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 851 981 1052257+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Disk /dev/mmcblk0: 999 MB, 999292928 bytes
    32 heads, 63 sectors/track, 968 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 2016 * 512 = 1032192 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/mmcblk0p1 1 968 975679+ 6 FAT16
    [user@localhost ~]$

    When type sudo mount -t vfat/dev/sdb1 /mnt/windows would give answer "is not valid block device"
    [user@localhost ~]$ sudo mount -t vfat /dev/sdb1 /mnt/windows
    audit_log_user_command(): Connection refused
    mount: /dev/sdb1 is not a valid block device
    [user@localhost ~]$

    Thanks for all advise - a newbie of linux, AG
     
    alex.gemaraz, Feb 12, 2009
    #7
  8. alex.gemaraz

    alex.gemaraz

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mattytee, just additional info, when do lsusb it will still detect --- for this exercise with 2USB drive, old one FAT32, 256 MB and new one FAT32, 2GB both is Kingston.

    Sudo fdisk -l still not give any sdb... thx

    [user@localhost ~]$ lsusb
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0951:1607 Kingston Technology
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 08ec:0008 M-Systems Flash Disk Pioneers
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 064e:d101 Acer Crystal Eye Webcam
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    [user@localhost ~]$
     
    alex.gemaraz, Feb 12, 2009
    #8
  9. alex.gemaraz

    Japser

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    My logic is: as long as the output of dmesg does not look any better there is nothing to mount.
    Being a drive the module usb-storage should take care of this device and that does not happen.
    ( note: showing up in lsusb only means that the device identifies itself, nothing more. )
    In your first line sou say:
    My suspicion is that in order to get the modem to work you have disabled usb-storage.

    Actually it picks it up, but then disappears again ( in the last line ):

    --Japser.
     
    Japser, Feb 12, 2009
    #9
  10. alex.gemaraz

    alex.gemaraz

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    All,

    Just to close something that I started and might someone help with comments.
    I can solve easily by deleting usb_modswitich (http://www.draisberghof.de/usb_modeswitch) and all files I created then the USB working per normal but not my modem (ZTE MF620 3G USB Modem) anymore :cry:

    I did not know how or I might do wrong but the only thing I can do is USB working not the modem or the modem not the USB...

    Basically below is the guide according to many website/blog:

    Make the rules /etc/udev/rules.d/15-zte-mf620.rules

    # cat /etc/udev/rules.d/15-zte-mf620.rules
    ACTION!="add", GOTO="ZTE_End"

    SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idProduct}=="2000",
    SYSFS{idVendor}=="19d2", GOTO="ZTE_ZeroCD"

    SUBSYSTEM=="usb", SYSFS{idProduct}=="0001",
    SYSFS{idVendor}=="19d2", GOTO="ZTE_Modem"

    LABEL="ZTE_ZeroCD"
    RUN+="/sbin/rmmod usb_storage"

    LABEL="ZTE_Modem"
    RUN+="/usr/bin/usb_modeswitch -W -d 1 -v 0x19d2 -p 0x2000 -V 0x19d2 -P 0x0001 -m 0x04 -M 55534243123456780000000000000600000000000000000000000000000000"
    RUN+="/sbin/modprobe usbserial vendor=0x19d2 product=0x0001",
    MODE="660", GROUP="uucp"
    LABEL="ZTE_End"

    Then install usb_modswitch, following instruction per normal from website

    I did comgt by comgt -d /dev/ttyUSB0

    And voila, either using wvdial or GNOME PPP, both working well but not the USB plug.

    So, I am back to use my USB at forget (at this moment) using ZTE in my AAO.

    When I browsed more or check the usb_modswitch or similar forum and get better solution I would share.

    Thx & bye, AG :cool:
     
    alex.gemaraz, Feb 26, 2009
    #10
  11. alex.gemaraz

    Japser

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Japser, Feb 26, 2009
    #11
  12. alex.gemaraz

    alex.gemaraz

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Japser, thx for info but could not register to the forum probably because not using australian hosting that I might try it again in future. Let me check on advise to swith with 8 & 9 if possible to work with my ZTE MF620
     
    alex.gemaraz, Feb 27, 2009
    #12
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.