upgrade BIOS or install memory: what should i do first?

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by enzobelmont, Sep 22, 2008.

  1. enzobelmont

    enzobelmont

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today i will get my new brand acer aspire one plus one memory module (1gb)

    here specs:
    Code:
    Acer ASpire One (LU.S030A.016 8GB SSD version) 
    KVR667D2S5/1G Memoria Kingston SODIMM DDR2 PC2 5300, 200Pines, 1GB
    
    what should i do first:

    upgrade to latest bios??
    install memory module??
    install XP??
    install MacOS X??
    install arch linux??
    buy a SDHC card (8 or 16 GB)??
    it is very hard to get a zif 1.8" HDD here (Mexico), so it's not an option (for now hehehe :twisted: )

    I know, SSD is not enough to run fairly good MacOS nor Vista, but i want to experiment whit this little bastard. :)

    i've installed a lot of OSes on my desktop and my compaq lappy then i *think* i've some experience with this kind of matters.
     
    enzobelmont, Sep 22, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. enzobelmont

    karona

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Razdel, Bulgaria
    Whack the memory in first, and as for the BIOS, Acer's view is "If it isn't broken, Don't fix it!" There's loads of reports of the bios fix breaking stuff, so if your AA1 is working fine there's no need to update it.

    The rest of the stuff?

    Go for it and keep the Forums up to date with progress :D

    Keith
     
    karona, Sep 22, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. enzobelmont

    enzobelmont

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    here's my first screenshot:
    [​IMG]
    i'm running XP and windowblinds 6 it runs pretty fast.
    my ssd is partitioned this way:
    4gb for xp and 3.5 for my linpus, after installing all my apps: WXP= 2gb free and in linpus= 1.3Gb free.

    saludos.
     
    enzobelmont, Sep 24, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.