Troubles making a Recovery USB

Discussion in 'Linux' started by bjrn, Jul 16, 2008.

  1. bjrn

    bjrn

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps someone can help me. I want to make a Linpus recovery USB, I have the recovery DVD in my drive, I boot up, get the little menu and select the "Make a recovery USB" option. After that all I get is a black screen, and the DVD just spins down and nothing else happens. The USB stick I have is a 2GB SanDisk thing.

    Does anyone know what might be up?
     
    bjrn, Jul 16, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. bjrn

    techie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    it seems to be very picky about the USB drive. mine gets past the install to USB and seems fine then fails to actually work when used on the Aspire (fails to mount rd-base something).

    Unfortunately I dont have an external dvd rom either...I am working on creating a bootable usb drive and simply copying the dvd contents to it and seeing if that will work with some tweaking.
     
    techie, Jul 16, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. bjrn

    bjrn

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    The thing is that both my desktop and my Aspire One have no trouble working with the USB drive, it's just the recovery DVD that's not working. Although I guess it might fail booting even if reading it when the system is up and running works...
     
    bjrn, Jul 16, 2008
    #3
  4. bjrn

    bjrn

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a little update. The Acer has no trouble recognizing the USB disk (my desktop is fine with it too). I tried making a Ubuntu LiveUSB with UNetbootin, and it worked just fine, booted up and worked just peachy (except wifi, natch).

    I called Acer's helpdesk. The people at Acer NL seem to have less info about the thing than the people over at these forums (seriously, I had to repeat things over and over and over again before they sank in), and decided that I need a new Recovery DVD because the one I have has an error. So I'm going to get some sort of repair request document mailed to me that I need to sign and send back to them, and then I'm getting a replacement DVD. Yep, that's what they told me. TBH my guess is that any replacement DVD will exhibit the same issues, perhaps Linpus doesn't like my screen or something.
     
    bjrn, Jul 16, 2008
    #4
  5. bjrn

    gerarddelafas

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi, I just create a Recovery USB but when I insert the USB drive into my Acer Aspire one (or into my Acer Extensa 5220) first of all appears a console screen contains the repetition of the word BB, than the nettop normally starts without making the recovery.

    Anyone has any ideas?

    I need Recovery because on this NetTop was installed only the English language (I need italian too) and at every reboot the keyboard is set to en/us instead of IT. Is there a way to definitely change system and keyboard language (into Italian)?

    Many Thanks
     
    gerarddelafas, Jul 17, 2008
    #5
  6. bjrn

    Flaterik

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Prova con una USB piu' grande , io ho risolto con una da 4gb, prima avevo il tuo stesso problema. Al ripristino ti fa reinserire la linua e sei Ok.

    Try with a bigger usb, i do it with a 4gb and i resolved it. At the recovery you can choose the new language
     
    Flaterik, Jul 17, 2008
    #6
  7. bjrn

    Kev50027

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    With the advanced mode "hack" you can easily change the language or install a new one.
     
    Kev50027, Jul 18, 2008
    #7
  8. bjrn

    gerarddelafas

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Thanks restored System and Keyboard language to Italian ;) :mrgreen:
     
    gerarddelafas, Jul 18, 2008
    #8
  9. bjrn

    zaphod

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    France
    Could you explain how in a bit more detail please ? I have a French keyboard layout but would like English system language.
     
    zaphod, Jul 18, 2008
    #9
  10. bjrn

    jeromlenz

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you try this one,
    viewtopic.php?f=5&t=102#p906
    Ca devrait marcher comme sur des roulettes!? :)

    I wouldn't be surprised if you get an American EN(US) keyboard layout after reboot though.
    Then > "Settings" > "Input Languages" to add back the French keyboard layout.
    Good luck...
     
    jeromlenz, Jul 19, 2008
    #10
  11. bjrn

    dandesigns

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have troubles making recovery usb too as I cannot do it on my desktop pc with windows in it. The cd will just boot up, let you choose what to do then once the "Aspire One" logo appears, the scroll lock and caps lock key will just blink eternally.

    What i did was grabbed an external cd/dvd drive, plugged it in the aspire one, booted up on the cd, then made the recovery disk from there.
     
    dandesigns, Jul 19, 2008
    #11
  12. bjrn

    Landingsman

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My recovery disk won't boot on a windows xp pc. Any secret to get it to do so?
     
    Landingsman, Jul 27, 2008
    #12
  13. bjrn

    anders

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    changing from a 1 gb to 4gb stick fixed the problem for me as well.
     
    anders, Jul 27, 2008
    #13
  14. bjrn

    victor

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver

    I have the same problem with my 1GB stick. Can you tell me how much space is needed for the recovery stick? 2GB 4GB?
     
    victor, Aug 9, 2008
    #14
  15. bjrn

    retsaw

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is just over 1GB, I'm not sure there are any 1GB it will fit on, but I suppose it is possible there are some. With 2GB+ there shouldn't be any space issues.
     
    retsaw, Aug 10, 2008
    #15
  16. bjrn

    veloc123

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys

    When i went to create a USB Recovery disk it erased the data on my secondary IDE hard drive on my main PC instead of the plugged-in USB Flash DRive that it said it was picking to do the disk creation on.

    I have now lost all my 60GB of data that IDE drive. I also tried to it a second time once i had re-initialised the drive and it re-formatted it again eventhough it specifically says that it is picking the USB Flash DRive.

    Fuckin Nuts!!

    Any had this done happen to them also...
     
    veloc123, Aug 10, 2008
    #16
  17. bjrn

    hmraao

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firstly, see if what you're trying to use is mentioned in the list of USB-sticks that can be used in reinstall topic

    Mostly people are reporting problems using SanDisk sticks. The create recovery usb drive process seems to reformat the stick, and, from experience, I know that the Cruzer U3 smart drives don't allow you to delete the various system apps that are preloaded on them. Having said that, there's at least one report of success using SanDisk Cruzer 2GB, so perhaps that poster might be able to advise you.
     
    hmraao, Aug 10, 2008
    #17
  18. bjrn

    veloc123

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks yes I am using Sandisk 2GB Cruzer
     
    veloc123, Aug 11, 2008
    #18
  19. bjrn

    sesy

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I used a sandisk 4GB cruzer; main issue for the recovery dvd was that it could find the thing only in one usb port (the comp I used has 5) which stumped me for long time... perhaps the usb port is the 'first' in some internal queue. Haven't now energy to find out.

    Acer coders might have used their time to make sure that any usb port can be found, instead of setting up some not-so-necessary nice picture changes during the recovery...

    Best
    Seppo
     
    sesy, Aug 13, 2008
    #19
  20. bjrn

    dragonstears

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Me too, my dad has lost all his work related data because of it!!!! I'm going to try and find out if there is a way to recover the data, if not, it's onto Acer for some angry customer style phonecalls!!!!
     
    dragonstears, Aug 26, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.