Things just keep deleting

Discussion in 'HP / Compaq' started by cheekymunkee, Jul 8, 2016.

1. cheekymunkee

cheekymunkee

Hi there, newbie here but quite technical, so hopefully any help will be understood ;-)

Have a friend who is having trouble with her laptop - I've just got hold of it to have a look.

It's an HP Pavilion G6 - about 4 years old, has hardly had any use tbh, the usual Itunes use and documents / music, that's it.

For some reason on the desktop (it seems to be just here) folders and shortcuts just delete themselves or when you click on them once it comes up with the notification box (not always, sometimes it just deletes) "you need Admin access, do you want to delete this file" - you click OK and poof it's gone!!

I've run Malwarebytes - all clean and also Kaspersky 2016 full scan - all clear...

Next step is to run a fresh install to Windows 7 (apparently someone tried a Win8.1 but it made no difference - she had that originally)

Just wondered if anyone else had any other ideas to try???

Many thanks

cheekymunkee, Jul 8, 2016
    IBMPC8088 likes this.
  2. cheekymunkee

something back

Welcome to the laptop-forums site

Well this seems to be a tricky one

Have you tried to recover from an earlier point,this may help you recover
    some of the deleted folders and files. “The earlier the better”

It does seem to point to some kind of virus, or rootkit.

You may well have to do a full fresh install it could just be the fastest
    solution.

If you do choose this root then format or use a drive eraser on the hard drive first.

Don't forget that windows 10 free update is ending at the end of this month.

something back, Jul 8, 2016
    IBMPC8088 likes this.
  3. cheekymunkee

cheekymunkee

Hi there, and thanks for the quick reply :)