System not capable of hardware accelerated graphics

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Darryl, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. Darryl

    Darryl

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    ,Your system currently is not capable of hardware accelerated 3D. Therefore quake3 cannot run.

    Usually the cause of this error is that there are no Free Software drivers for your graphics card, please contact your graphics card manufacturer and kindly ask them to provide Free Software support for your card.

    This is all I get when I try to install many games. Help greatly appreciated :cry:

    Other packages installed = vlc, skype, f-spot, realplayer, bios v3305, added 1gb ram.
     
    Darryl, Oct 8, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Darryl

    ipearl

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't you need wine or something alike, to run exe windows based applications ?
     
    ipearl, Oct 8, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Darryl

    Darryl

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    these were linux versions
     
    Darryl, Oct 8, 2008
    #3
  4. Darryl

    ipearl

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh interesting Quake had Linux Version?
    I must check that out later.
     
    ipearl, Oct 8, 2008
    #4
  5. Darryl

    dattaway

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas Citeeeeeeeeee, MO
    Not only is there a Linux version of Quake, the source code is available too!
     
    dattaway, Oct 9, 2008
    #5
  6. Darryl

    Darryl

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    SOLVED

    If you change the monitor resolution in xorg.conf to get the right resolution on a 17in monitor it will disable the relevant software. Return to default settings to fix it :D
     
    Darryl, Oct 10, 2008
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.