Still unable to use dialup USB modem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by collinsc, Nov 10, 2008.

1. collinsc

collinsc

Hi everyone,

I travel to places that don't have wireless internet available, and need to connect with an external USB dialup modem. I purchased a Zoom 3095, but have been unable to get it recognized by the AAO. I have read various threads that I have found on this forum, but I'm still having problems (possibly because I am a Linux newbie). The other threads are discussing using cell phones as modems, but I need to connect to a landline.

My AAO has wvdial and gnomeppp installed. I have downloaded the cdc-aom.ko file and installed it in the /lib/modules/2.6.23.9lw/usb/class/ folder.

When I run gnomeppp, and go into Setup, and click on Detect, it does not detect a modem. Perhaps my wvdial.conf file is incorrect? I'm not sure what to put for the modem device name. "dev/modem"? "dev/ttys0"?

When I type "lsusb", it does show the modem, listed as "bus 002 device 002". I don't know what to do with that information.

Thanks in advance, for any help you can provide.

collinsc, Nov 10, 2008
  2. collinsc

Andysan

Andysan, Nov 10, 2008
  3. collinsc

Japser

Hi, I was reading into this too.
    I am wondering if the next command could do the trick:

sudo modprobe cdc-acm

Then try

sudo wvdialconf

Just an experiment.

Bottom line: It -is- a hardware modem, and -will- work with the newest kernel. But in between it is quite confusing.

HTH --Japser.

Japser, Nov 10, 2008
  4. collinsc

collinsc

Hi Jasper,

Thanks for your suggestions...

When I type sudo modprobe cdc-acm, it accepts the command and returns to the prompt.

When I then type sudo wvdialconf, it says:
    Scanning your ports for a modem. Sorry, no modem was detected! Is it in use by another program? Did you configure it properly with setserial?

I tried typing setserial or sudo setserial, and it says Command not found.

Any other suggestions?

Thanks,
    Chris

collinsc, Nov 11, 2008