Stealing power from the mobo?

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by AngryCFModder, Apr 1, 2009.

1. AngryCFModder

AngryCFModder

I want to power some LEDs from the motherboard, so that they turn on when the computer is on. How would I go about doing this?

I have the 8.9" One that came with Linpus.

Maybe I could steal power from one of the speaker cables? I'm looking to power at least 4 LEDs, hopefully as many as 10.

AngryCFModder, Apr 1, 2009
  2. AngryCFModder

jerryt

Motherboard usb port "CN11".

jerryt, Apr 1, 2009
  3. AngryCFModder

AngryCFModder

Thanks, but could you be a little more specific? Or point me to some literature on the subject? Do I need a resistor? Do I have to do parallel circuits with LEDs, or can I go serial? I have no experience with circuits, or electronics in general :?

Okay, so I found about the circuitry, now I just have to find out how to actually steal the power :twisted:

4. AngryCFModder

melhiore

melhiore, Apr 1, 2009
  5. AngryCFModder

AngryCFModder

Did you read the search results yourself? I thought I did, and I didn't find any answer to my question there, but I will read again.

6. AngryCFModder

melhiore

Yes I did. CN11 is mentioned in all this threads for one reason - it's extra USB "socket" on mobo - this contains 5V power as well...

melhiore, Apr 1, 2009
  7. AngryCFModder

jerryt

I would recommend you reconsider attempting a internal modification until you some basic experience with circuits.

Start out simple by building an external LED assembly powered by a USB connector.

jerryt, Apr 1, 2009
  8. AngryCFModder

AngryCFModder

Thanks. Only 5V? I guess I'm going to have to do a parallel circuit then :(

On the other hand, If I steal power from the fan port, maybe the fan control software will be able to control the brightness of the LEDs? :p

Probably a good idea, but I don't know where to purchase this stuff. Couldn't find any shops in my country, but finally found some LEDs over at dealextreme.