[st.expansion] mount swap on SDHC card ?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by hpfx, Nov 15, 2008.

1. hpfx

hpfx

hello,
    I just have my SDHC card (8GB class6) into the storage expansion (left side), and I'm wondering if it's possible to move swap on it (instead of the internal SSD)
    do you have such experiance ? is it safe ?
    and how to do that ? (sorry I'm not an linux expert, I still have linpus)

the goal is to save my SDD drive, such cards cost only 20€.

other question, if I buy other SD cards, can I switch card if I create a swap onto each of them ?
    but device name might be different ? (/dev/mmcblk0p1)

what happens if I remove the card (when machine is off) and I switch power on ?

ho, and what's about /tmp folder ? can we move to the card ??? other idea ??
    thank you.

hpfx, Nov 15, 2008
  2. hpfx

rbil

I suppose you could move swap to a SDHC card, but you'd need to create a swap partition on it of course, after a FAT32 parition that is normally used to expand the SSD drive. Or possibly you could get by with using a swapfile as opposed to a swap partition, but I'm not sure how that would work on a FAT32 partition? If I ever used a swapfile with Linux, it was always writing to an ext3 partition. Frankly, the swap doesn't get written to all that much with normal use of the AAO, so I really don't see an advantage to doing this. You'd have to turn the computer off of course, before switching to another card that also had a swap partition. The new card, in the left slot at bootup would still be assigned: /dev/mmcblk0p1. As you're probably aware, you'd need to edit /etc/fstab to have the swap mount on the new swap partition on the SDHC card.

Yes, there could be problems if you ran Linpus without a swap partition, as you could simply run out of memory.

/tmp is mounted on a RAM disk, so there is no point in trying to move it to a card.

Cheers.

rbil, Nov 15, 2008
  3. hpfx

hpfx

Thank you for your reply, you provide me interessting information.