So many paths to Documents, Music, Pictures, etc.

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by sanger, Aug 25, 2008.

1. sanger

sanger

I'm new to Linux and one of the most confusing things so far is the multitude of different paths to seemingly the same files.

e.g. I can find the folder containing Documents, Music, Pictures, Downloads, Files etc in:
    1) My Disk:///
    2) Removable:///disk
    3) /home/user
    4) /mnt/home

and I'm sure other places as well. I plan to find myself a Fedora Linux book asap but in the meantime can someone give a quick explanation to the difference between all the paths. Are they really all the same. Sometimes I'll copy a file to one path and it appears in some but not all of the above paths.

Thanks

sanger, Aug 25, 2008
  2. sanger

rbil

The confusion comes about because you are using a SD card in the left port. Linpus extends its SSD drive to this port/SD card, causing a duplication of the folders on the card. However, that card is mounted as a removable disk and also under its own mount point.

Cheers.

rbil, Aug 25, 2008
  3. sanger

annafil

sanger, to addon to the above comment

/home/user is your built in memory
    /mnt/home is the extended SD card memory
    My Disk:/// is the two of the above linked into a virtual filesystem together (I think whichever has more space gets priority)
    Removable:///disk is your SD card again, so it's the same as /mnt/home

Generally speaking, there's no need to worry about these, they sort themselves out if you continue to use the built in file manager and the shortcuts on the left for "Documents, videos" etc.

You can use the ezcopy feature to move stuff from internal memory to sd card if you really want to (available in the file manager itself, under File)