So is Linpus still supported?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Katana, Dec 14, 2009.

  1. Katana

    Katana

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    As it seems to be unable to update software and and remove programs keeps saying missing things. Have looked on here and there are no answers so I was was wondering which linux system has drivers for everything and woks straight out of the box.
     
    Katana, Dec 14, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Katana

    melhiore

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancashire, UK
    Ubuntu.
     
    melhiore, Dec 14, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Katana

    yelvington

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Several of the Linux distributions work right out of the box with the Aspire One. I have to agree that Linpus is frustrating and poorly supported by Acer (which bollixed up Linpus). On my daughter's AOA110, original Aspire One 512 MB with SSD, I installed Ubuntu Netbook Remix (Karmic Koala 9.10 version) and everything works. My daughter likes it, but I have noticed that it's much more memory-hungry than Linpus. Under normal usage, I encounter momentary halts as it swaps data in and out of RAM. This eventually will lead me to tackling the ugly RAM upgrade problem.

    The Clutter UI is cute but annoyingly slow. Regular Ubuntu 9.10 is a better choice in my book.
     
    yelvington, Dec 19, 2009
    #3
  4. Katana

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Fedora 12, Ubuntu 9.10, and many of their derivatives have worked very well for me and are easily updated.
     
    RockDoctor, Jan 3, 2010
    #4
  5. Katana

    comocho

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    As a noob still trying to understand this netbook, would I be installing ubuntu normally? ie. like any other desktop/laptop? or would I need some special sort of configuration?
     
    comocho, Jan 28, 2010
    #5
  6. Katana

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    I installed it (and use it) normally - no special configuration needed.
     
    RockDoctor, Jan 28, 2010
    #6
  7. Katana

    Darryl

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Darryl, Jan 29, 2010
    #7
  8. Katana

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Mandriva One also seems to work well. Haven't installed 2010.0, but I've run it from a live USB stick.

    Bottom line: pick a well-supported regularly-updated distro with a strong community behind it, install, and enjoy!
     
    RockDoctor, Feb 8, 2010
    #8
  9. Katana

    CmdrMercutio

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does Mandriva recognise the SD cards and allow hotplugging?
     
    CmdrMercutio, Feb 14, 2010
    #9
  10. Katana

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Last time I ran it, I needed to add pciehp_force=1 to the kernel line of my grub.conf (aka menu.lst) file to get it to recognize the SD cards.
     
    RockDoctor, Feb 14, 2010
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.