Running Matlab and (possibly) Mathematica - possible?

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by keenPenguin, Sep 1, 2008.

1. keenPenguin

keenPenguin

Hi,

I am an undergraduate physics student, and I frequently use Matlab and Mathematica. I also require OpenOffice, as well as a little bit of GIMP and Inkscape. I found Acer Aspire One notebooks interesting as they are very convenient and as light-weight as a book. As I prefer Linux, the A150L with its large 120GB HD appealed to me. I wonder whether someone has tried to run Matlab (r2007a, or similar) or Mathematica 6 one any Acer Aspire One notebook? I use Linux-Versions of these programs. I would be very grateful for any information on how good these tools run on Acer Aspire One notebooks.

Regards,

kP

keenPenguin, Sep 1, 2008
  2. keenPenguin

bjc

OpenOffice 2.3.0 is mostly pre-installed (Writer, Impress & Calc) and you can easily add the Draw, Math & Base components from the repositories. Similarly with Gimp 2.4.6. This is usually quite easy EG:

In a terminal as root:
    $ yum install gimp

Inkscape also appears to be in the repository but I haven't tried to install it.

Neither Matlab nor Mathematica show up in the repository so you would be doing a bit of trailblazing by downloading it from their respective sites.

This OS is Linpus lite based on Fedora 8 which has been modified for a smaller footprint (etc etc) SO beware of incompatibilities with installed libraries.

This is a nice little machine but I wonder if it mightn't be pushing it a bit far to expect it to run those applications.
    Best of luck though.

bjc, Sep 3, 2008
  3. keenPenguin

soleblaze

I think with matlab or mathematica it really would depend on how complicated your code is. If your doing fairly simple things I can't see why the aspire one would have problems with it, but once you get it more complicated things could take awhile to run.

soleblaze, Sep 3, 2008
  4. keenPenguin

sideways