Repairing Vs Buying New

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by vinaya, Mar 2, 2016.

1. vinaya

vinaya

My laptop needs keyboard, CD ROM drive, and battery replacement. The laptop also needs a cooling pad because it had over heating problem. Which one is better repairing the laptop or buyin a new one. I have been using this laptop since 6 years and there is no any problem with performance.

vinaya, Mar 2, 2016
    IBMPC8088 likes this.
  2. vinaya

djtech

Even though cost-wise it may seem wise to simply replace the keyboard, drive and battery. But, the fact is that it would be far more convenient and wise to simply go for a new one. There is a lot that'll go wrong with the laptop over time, so its better to buy one that comes with a warranty and which will give you peace of mind.

I remember I used to have a laptop that had all of the problems you mentioned and more. It was a gift and had sentimental value, but eventually I just had to sell it and buy a new one. When I bought a new one, it was such a relief, because I had grown tired of playing repairman on my laptop.

So, try to get a new one if you can.

Last edited: Mar 4, 2016
    djtech, Mar 2, 2016
    IBMPC8088 likes this.
  3. vinaya

something back

Keyboard costs approx $15
    A used laptop cd/dvd drive you can look on ebay $12
    Battery ebay approx $22 or less

All the above can be easily replaced look on YouTube for a video

The keyboard IS THE HARDEST TO REPLACE but still easy.

Only one screw holds in the cd/dvd drive

The battery you will know how to replace it.

something back, Mar 2, 2016
    IBMPC8088 likes this.
  4. vinaya

SirJoe

If you don't need a powerful computer and it costs this much to replace the components, it's worth while repairing it.

SirJoe, Mar 3, 2016
    IBMPC8088 likes this.
  5. vinaya

sharatharadhya