Problems loading Ubuntu Netbook Remix 10.04 on AOA 110

Discussion in 'Linux' started by newbie, May 4, 2010.

1. newbie

Hello

I bought an Aspire One last year and today decided to change the OS from the pre-installed Linpus Lite to Ubuntu 10.04 (Netbook Remix) after testing the Ubuntu format and liking it.

I downloaded Ubuntu 10.04 and created a bootable USB within Windows. I booted to Acer fine with this. However, problem came when trying to install Ubuntu.

Everything seemed to go well, but on startup, the following appears:

"error: no such device: c5cab486-(etc etc)
    grub rescue>"

I'm not very technical, and have had a look on other forums, but am not getting any joy on how to fix this. I was under the impression that the Acer can run Ubuntu fine...? And I can still boot it up from the USB no problem? So why can I not install it?

Any help (in simple language) much appreciated!

newbie, May 4, 2010
  2. newbie

Xinês

Hi newbie,

Not fully understood what you did, but:

Does this error appears to you during boot after you installed?
    Which device is the one in the error message? Is it your SSD internal disk? If it is, something should be wrong with it's partition table (not good and may be an indication of an imminent disk failure... or not!).
    Did you use the same partitions as the were? In such case I would try to reinstall but delete the existing partition and make a new partition table (if you can, fdisk should be just fine for this, but I suppose the installer itself should manage this fine also).

Resume: if I understood correctly, reinstall but don't use the same partition's. Do new ones before installation.

Xinês, May 4, 2010
  3. newbie

Xines

Thanks. Yes, the error appears during boot after installation. The machine has an 8GB SSD with an 8GB expansion card.