Problems installing Tiny Vista !

Discussion in 'Windows' started by BazookaAce, Nov 24, 2008.

  1. BazookaAce

    BazookaAce

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    Hi,

    I tought i would give Vista a shot on my AAO A150, so i'm installing it from a USB flashdisk.

    When i'm running cmd.exe and typing "list disk" the main hdd is showing. Not the USB-disk. And it sould be disk 1, but the main hdd is disk 0. How do i boot up from the USB?

    I've read several "guides", and they're ALL THE SAME. Copy - paste guides. Idiots. So, since all guides are copy-pasted, no solution is mentioned.

    So, does anyone know what to do?!

    Please help me, and do NOT link to a guide like this: (burn in hell)

    Note: In recent versions of Windows, you may only format a partition as FAT32 if it is less than 32GB in size.

    Load up cmd.exe
    1. Run diskpart
    2. select disk #
    3. clean
    4. create partition primary size=8000 (this creates an 8000 MB aka 8 GB partition)
    5. select partition 1
    6. active
    7. format fs=fat32
    8. assign
    9. exit
     
    BazookaAce, Nov 24, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. BazookaAce

    goofball

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stupid question but you are setting up the USB drive on Vista machine?
     
    goofball, Nov 25, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. BazookaAce

    BazookaAce

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    No. I have XP Home on my A150 now, and i wish to install Tiny Vista, and dualboot between Vista and XP. But i have showned my longest finger to the whole "project", and deleted Tiny Vista :p
     
    BazookaAce, Nov 25, 2008
    #3
  4. BazookaAce

    goofball

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should be doing the diskpart on a vista machine. I always created mine on a vista machine (used a virtual machine with Vista inside to create)
     
    goofball, Nov 26, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.