Powering down while "inactive"

Discussion in 'Linux' started by cFirefox, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. cFirefox

    cFirefox

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    first of all, thank you for your help. So far I never stumbled upon a problem that hasn't bee discussed (and solved) in this forum.

    So far...

    I am using the AAO for downlading torrents (mostly WoW related install files/ patches, in other words: legal stuff :!: ) using the transmission torrent client. I like the program but my One keeps powering down after approx 30 min if I don't do any inputs.

    How can I avoid that? Is anybody familiar with the power management the Acer Linpus version uses?

    Thanks for the help.
     
    cFirefox, Sep 11, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cFirefox

    GavinK151

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    (from memory so might be talking rubbish)

    If you right click the battery/power icon you can adjust the power settings for both battery and AC. I *think* you can tell it not to do anything like sleeping etc in that dialog.... I have the advanced desktop enabled (plenty of info on enabling that here in the forum) so it could be the case that you have to do this first...
     
    GavinK151, Sep 11, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cFirefox

    Motoko.A150L

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right click the battery/power-plug icon in the system tray area. Select "Configure KPowersave". Near the bottom of the window that comes up is the word "Autosuspend", click it and then uncheck (clear the x mark) the box next to "Enabled Autosuspend". Make sure you do it in the profile that you use when you leave your Aspire One on for P2P. Choose the appropriate profile from the list on the left first :)
     
    Motoko.A150L, Sep 11, 2008
    #3
  4. cFirefox

    cFirefox

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great, Thank you.

    I am at work right now, so I can't try it, but as soon as I am home in the evening, I 'll give it a try.
     
    cFirefox, Sep 12, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.