Please I NEED HELP!!! I need some files [solved]

Discussion in 'Linux' started by gerarddelafas, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. gerarddelafas

    gerarddelafas

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi Guys, :shock:
    I have a problem,
    yum.repo.d folder is empty so I cannot retrieve repository.

    can you send me a tar.gz file with the content of your yum.repo.d folder please?

    The path of folder is /etc/yum.repo.d/*
    Without these files I cannot install everything... please help me.

    Many Thanks
    gerarddelafas
     
    gerarddelafas, Aug 6, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. gerarddelafas

    gerarddelafas

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Re: yum.repo.d folder is empty - cannot retrieve repository HELP

    hey!!!
    please send me the folder...

    thanks
     
    gerarddelafas, Aug 7, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. gerarddelafas

    Raido

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Please I NEED HELP!!! I need some files

    hi, try this one,



    ..oh, and it's no use yelling ;)
     
    Raido, Aug 7, 2008
    #3
  4. gerarddelafas

    gerarddelafas

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Re: Please I NEED HELP!!! I need some files

    sorry :roll: it was a disperate yell :eek: :eek: ihih!!!
    thanks for the files.

    I have some problems with yum and if I try to install a package it freeze.

    Here there are 2 examples:

    from terminal:
    [[email protected] yum.repos.d]# yum install amsn
    Repository updates is listed more than once in the configuration
    Repository updates-debuginfo is listed more than once in the configuration
    Repository updates-source is listed more than once in the configuration
    Repository livna is listed more than once in the configuration
    Repository livna-debuginfo is listed more than once in the configuration
    Repository livna-source is listed more than once in the configuration
    Repository livna is listed more than once in the configuration
    Repository livna-debuginfo is listed more than once in the configuration
    Repository livna-source is listed more than once in the configuration
    Setting up Install Process
    Parsing package install arguments

    after 15 minutes....
    zzzZZzzz (it was freezed)
    then I killed from another terminal.

    from the gui of package manager:
    in attachment. it still remain in the same point after 15 minutes.

    I read the yum.log file but it wasn't update and the last log line is two days old.
    Any suggestions?
    What could I do to solve this problem?
     
    gerarddelafas, Aug 7, 2008
    #4
  5. gerarddelafas

    within

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Please I NEED HELP!!! I need some files

    just a thought: try to have only:
    fedora
    livna
    updates

    as repositories ticked in your list. I've found some troubles if I ticked other repositories like dev of these 3 above.
     
    within, Aug 7, 2008
    #5
  6. gerarddelafas

    gerarddelafas

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Re: Please I NEED HELP!!! I need some files

    how can I edit repository list?
     
    gerarddelafas, Aug 7, 2008
    #6
  7. gerarddelafas

    within

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Please I NEED HELP!!! I need some files

    just tick what you want in the list:

    from the Package manager window Menu, choose in Edit menu "Repositories" (Ctrl+R) to open the repositories window list.

    Click close and it will retrieve the list according to your sources list.
     
    within, Aug 8, 2008
    #7
  8. gerarddelafas

    gerarddelafas

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Re: Please I NEED HELP!!! I need some files

    how can I deselect repositories from package manager? when I execute it, it will freeze immediately!

    It there another procedure to select repositories?

    Thanks
     
    gerarddelafas, Aug 10, 2008
    #8
  9. gerarddelafas

    within

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Please I NEED HELP!!! I need some files

    sure there is a terminal way, with yum commands I guess. But I never did it this way, so can't explain.

    I'm sure some guru guys will be helpful here, otherwise you can try a web search about yum. of course, have a look at yum help.
    I guess you have to Edit /etc/yum.conf to check/uncheck repositories.

    I've found a topic about yum on Fedora 8 that might help you.
    http://yken.org/2007/11/15/fedora-8-sel ... carefully/
     
    within, Aug 10, 2008
    #9
  10. gerarddelafas

    gerarddelafas

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Re: Please I NEED HELP!!! I need some files

    nothing to do:

    [[email protected] yum.repos.d]# yum --disablerepo=* --enablerepo=google install picasa
    Setting up Install Process
    Parsing package install arguments
    [then freeze aand I have to kill the yum process]

    :( :( :(

    I try to modify the yum.conf file but nothing changes:
    I added fake repositories and moved repositoryName.repo from folder /etc/yum.repod.d/ into a backup folder.
    I executed add/remove applications utilities and deleted all repositories but it freeze when it search for repository. So it is possible that my yum is corrupted and not only its repository files.
     
    gerarddelafas, Aug 11, 2008
    #10
  11. gerarddelafas

    gerarddelafas

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    Re: Please I NEED HELP!!! I need some files

    I decided to reinstall linpus in order to solve this yum corruption, even if the system before I reinstalled started to freeze on startup.

    So my machine doesn't start correctly and freeze on startup menu so I boot from a USB Flash the a Pendrivelinux distro in order to get my data back before I reinstalled the linpus OS.

    I started Pendrivelinux 2008 and my touchpad was not recognized. I thought that could be a problem of that version of Pendrivelinux so using only the keyboard I get alla data back and restart AA1. ;)

    Then I try to reinstall linpus lite on AA1 but the touchpad is DEAD! :shock: In previous installations it always worked! What the hell!!?!?

    I take a usb mouse from a friend and installed the linpus, then I wait for the startup of the system and ... the touchpad is still DEAD! :shock:
    I don't want to use a USB mouse, does anyone know what might be happened and how can I solve it? :cry:
     
    gerarddelafas, Aug 12, 2008
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.