Play DIVX videos with the VLC media player - Working

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Guest, May 5, 2009.

  1. Guest

    Guest Guest

    Hi,
    i started a new topic because it is very annoying to browse another one and not finding a solution. Maybe people can post only their WORKING solution here .

    This is my working solution to play video files with other codecs :

    I have downloaded a VLC install script from the acer website here ftp://ftp.acer-euro.com/netbook/aspire_ ... vlc.sh.zip

    Run this script and VLC will be running. Except it doesnt has the required codecs.

    Because of some patent issue acer has left out codecs. You can read that in the included pdf file.
    These are the missing codecs in this install script:

    libaraw_plugin.so, libcinepak_plugin.so, libcmml_plugin.so,
    libcvdsub_plugin.so, libdirac_plugin.so, libdmo_plugin.so,
    libdts_plugin.so, libdvbsub_plugin.so, libfaad_plugin.so,
    libfake_plugin.so, libffmpeg_plugin.so, libflacdec_plugin.so,
    libquicktime_plugin.so, librawvideo_plugin.so,
    librealaudio_plugin.so, libspeex_plugin.so, libspudec_plugin.so,
    libsubsdec_plugin.so, libsvcdsub_plugin.so, libtelx_plugin.so,
    libtwolame_plugin.so

    Then i started looking for an identic VLC version in RPM format with the codecs above.
    I have found one at this location :
    ftp://ftp.pbone.net/mirror/rpm.livna.or ... 8.i386.rpm

    download the RPM and open it, don't run it. Extract only the missing codecs (see list above) to /usr/lib/vlc/codec.

    Open VLC and play your video files
    Hope this will work for you

    Tom
     
    Guest, May 5, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Guest

    Fairnuf

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Tom

    Just so I get this right.....

    First download and instal from Acer downloads site THEN download the rpm file from the other link. Then just extract the relevent files (not quite sure how to do this bit yet but its probably obvious!)

    Is this the correct sequence?
     
    Fairnuf, May 6, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Guest

    Guest Guest

    that's correct.

    1. download and save vlc from acer applications for linpus acer one
    2. install by double clicking the file with extension .sh . If i remember it correctly this file is in the archive
    3. After the installation reboot.
    4. try VLC . it will be working Close it again for the codec installation
    5. Download and save the VLC rpm file that is provided by pbone.net.
    6. Locate the rpm on your acer one and open the rpf file with xarchiver.
    7. Sort files on file name so you can only extract all thecodec files under the codec/ directory
    8. Move or copy the missing codecs to usr/lib/vlc/codec.
    9. try VLC again. It should be working, and you have used the official Acer installation ... except the codecs :)

    good luck .. hope it works for you too
     
    Guest, May 6, 2009
    #3
  4. Guest

    Fairnuf

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help. I will give it a try.
     
    Fairnuf, May 7, 2009
    #4
  5. Guest

    Mako

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mako, May 7, 2009
    #5
  6. Guest

    Fairnuf

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fairnuf, May 7, 2009
    #6
  7. Guest

    jeejee23

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi i followed all the steps and successfully installed VLC on my AA1 Linpus Lite, but the problem when i played videos (e.g. avi files and such) it does not show me the screen, it only play the sounds/music/effects of that movie. i tried to click on the video menu on top and found out that it was disabled so i selected track 1 and played the video again, but still the same thing. its kinda odd though it already played the movie,the sound but without the video screen itself! PLEASE HELP.

    PS i tried reinstalling VLC via the acer.com/aspireone/updates....same problem happens no video screen but only sound. and it seems that everytime i played videos, the video menu seems to be defaulted as disabled. kinda weird though
     
    jeejee23, May 12, 2009
    #7
  8. Guest

    muttsnut

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have downloaded the necessary codecs, but when i try to extract them i just get an error saying that i dont have permission to extract the files to that folder. Is it possible to log in as a root user on the desktop, as i am not confident using the terminal?
     
    muttsnut, May 18, 2009
    #8
  9. Guest

    muttsnut

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's okay, bit the bullet and used the terminal. Working fine:)
     
    muttsnut, May 19, 2009
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.