Photographer with New Aspire One Need Expert Help

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by wastanierfrs, Nov 22, 2008.

1. wastanierfrs

wastanierfrs

Ladies and gentlemen

Can someone help me? I have just bought an AS One 120 gig+Linpus Linux as a photo storage device.It is a fabulous machine for the job as the screen is incredibly sharp and the whole deal is better than say the Epson P3000 device.
    I use a pair of Canon 400D's and only shoot in Raw.The default image viewer (gThumb??) is fantastic as it does a slide show at the same time as it magnifies the image -A BRILLIANT combination for checking (and discarding) images in the field.The snag? It doesn't read the native Canon .CR2 RAW file format !! So I now have to shoot in JPEG which is a really dumb thing to do.

I have tried various sites to no avail as I simply can't seem to get across my message that I am a COMPLETE novice with Linux.I can't understand the terminology.I have received advice and questions about "which file manager do you have?" "changing distros" "reloading with ubuntu" "joining a linux forum " etc etc But I am a photographer, not a computer expert. I didnt even realise the machine was Linux not Windows XP!!!
    Does anyone know of a SIMPLE way to view (slide show +magnification would be wonderful if possible) Canon .CR2 files.I do not need to edit or process them, as I do this "back at the ranch" with Photoshop.I realise I might need a bit more RAM and I am plucking up the courage to fit another Gig of memory.If I need to download something I can just about do that,but what and EXACTLY how do I install it?

It's probably a big ask (and outside the remit of the forum?) but can anyone help please.

Thank you
    John Parker

wastanierfrs, Nov 22, 2008
  2. wastanierfrs

Duncan_Rowland

Duncan_Rowland, Nov 22, 2008
  3. wastanierfrs

wastanierfrs

HI
    Lost already! What is wine? The Canon website seems to have no Linux version of the DPP software.
    JP

wastanierfrs, Nov 22, 2008