OSX + Original OS via Parallels?

Discussion in 'MacOS' started by AcerBear, Nov 9, 2008.

1. AcerBear

AcerBear

I just bought my first netbook - an Eee PC - and was blown away. I wanted a Linux version, as I HATE Microsoft, but I opted for Windows XP so I could get a bigger hard drive. Then I installed Ubuntu Linux on Windows. I also got an Apple wireless keyboard, as I'm a professional writer who can't stand cramped keyboards.

Now I want to buy another netbook for a friend. I want to put together an exceptionally nice computing platform and am looking at Acer's Aspire One. What I crave more than anything is the OS X operating system. (I also own a MacBook Pro, which I use much as a desktop at home.)

Though I'm not a total amateur, I'm not a hard core geek, either, so a lot of this technical stuff is hard for me to understand. But let me explain my overall goal.

Tentatively, I'd like to purchase an Aspire One, clone the hard drive to an external hard drive, then install Mac OS X and clone it to the external hard drive, too. I would then have a netbook running on Mac OS X (Leopard), with a clone of both the original hard drive (Windows XP) and the Mac OS X hard drive on my external hard drive.

Can this be done? If something went wrong with my internal hard drive (Mac OS X), would I be able to copy the cloned Windows XP drive back to my internal drive, returning my Aspire One to its default condition? Regardless of whether WinXP or OSX was installed on my internal hard drive would I be able to boot up off either of the cloned OS's on my external hard drive? In other words, if my Aspire One was running on OSX, could I boot it via the original WinXP program on my external hard drive?