Only Black Screen And Mouse Cursor

Discussion in 'Linux' started by iamfox, Apr 16, 2009.

1. iamfox

iamfox

Hi folks!

Yesterday i had big trouble with my AAO 110L.
    I got Linpus Linux Lite on it and everything was fine.
    As a Linux newbie i just began to learn that system better and installed programs, changed background etc.

But yesterday when my grilfriend logged off (she forgot to end Internet explorer, which ran with wine to make flatcast possible)
    the system never boot to the main desktop.
    I mean the screen to select bios appeared, the blue screen with aspire picture appeared, but the main desktop with WORK, CONNECT,etc. did not boot.
    It stopped just at the black screen before and only the mousecursor appeared.
    I could move the mouse cursor, but couldn't reache the Terminal nor get Alt+F2 to work. Any of the hotkeys didn't work either, except the brighter and darker function.
    It seemed to me that the system had a problem to load the desktop manager.
    I also tried to boot from a live-CD, Knoppix. It worked but i didn't know how to fix that problem via knoppix.

Then i read the forum posts and choosed to make a recovery dvd, which i downloaded and burnt on a dvd.
    After booting and recovering the system via usb-DVD drive, everything was fine again, but of course all my saved files were gone.

So, does anybody know something about that?
    Linpus Linux seems not to be very stable, i think.
    And is there a way to fix that problem without recovering the system? I mean, how can i get the desktop manager back, when this appears again?

thx for any advice,
    iamfox

iamfox, Apr 16, 2009
  2. iamfox

stevennp