Need help with buying an Ultraportable, work heavy machine

Discussion in 'Which Laptop should I buy?' started by boyuancy, Mar 30, 2014.

1. boyuancy

boyuancy

So I'll be buying a laptop, my first one ever, preferably in the month of May and I'm currently in the process of researching. The thing is, whatever I'm coming across online seems to be a bit outdated. For instance, I constantly come across these forum threads from early 2013 and a lot of laptops have come out since.

So I guess I need suggestions keeping in mind the laptops that are in the market right now (early 2014) and are due release in the next month or so.

So here are my basic requirements for what I'm looking for:

Price: ~$2000 (give or take a 100 bucks).

Function: Mostly work. A lot of web browsing, reading documents, typing and stuff like that. I'm an engineer too so some day, I'll probably want my laptop to be able to run graphics-heavy software (CAD modelling and stuff like that).

Requirements: Super, ultra-portable. If I could, I'll probably have it embedded into my body (that just means that I'll be carrying it around with me everywhere I go)!

I want it to have a very good keyboard and trackpad too so that typing and web browsing seem effortless.

Lastly, a good resolution display for reading complex diagrams and stuff.

Screen Size: Between 13 - 14".

RAM: I'm looking at anything over 4 GB.

Storage: Flexible (but I'm bent towards SSD).

Brands I like: Apple, HP, Dell, Lenovo

Brands I dislike (Not to rigid about it though): Toshiba, Acer, Samsung

Buying in:
    I live in India and I'll be buying it here, preferably in-store.

Now I tell myself that I won't need my laptop to be gaming-friendly but I'll probably be tempted to play some games too. Nothing too heavy though, I mean, I can settle for a laptop that can run decent games and perform the functions I need.