Love the Macbook Air, Need Microsoft Office !

Discussion in 'Which Laptop should I buy?' started by pjp, Feb 14, 2015.

1. pjp

pjp

I am looking to upgrade from my heavy and frankly, cheapo, laptop that is too slow. I want to buy a laptop that is smallish (13 inch screen or less) ,light and fast. I will be using it for internet surfing and switching between documents presentations etc. I am a physician, and will not be using the laptop for watching movies, gaming, or higher order computing. But, even for my simple use, I found the Pentium Quad Core HP laptop I had too slow.
    I am drooling over the MBA but I really need to work with Office - Word, Powerpoint and Excel. I also need to use the laptop to connect with AV aids to give presentations. In my experience I have found people with Macbooks struggling to connect their computers to LCD projectors etc.Also, when exporting presentations from Keynote, the file looks weird when opened by PPT.
    Though I have several Apple products, I am in a real quandry as to whether the MBA is the right choice for me. Does Office 365 work on Macs? Can you help me with your thoughts and suggestions? I am open to other brands and Windows based PCs too. I can afford a laptop that is in the general price range of the MBA 13 inch.
    Thank you!

pjp, Feb 14, 2015
  2. pjp

something back

I am unable to answer which laptop to choose, however have you ever tried
    the free program “openoffice” it will allow you to import microsoft docs
    to it and offers very similar spreadsheet ,word processor type programs.
    It's worth downloading and giving it a try,you just never know.

It runs on mac,window, linux machines.

Run it on the same machine you are using at present.
    Here's a link:

http://www.openoffice.org/download/

something back, Feb 14, 2015
  3. pjp

Brian8gbSSDLinux

Brian8gbSSDLinux, Feb 16, 2015
  4. pjp

IcyBC