Looking for a new laptop.

Discussion in 'Which Laptop should I buy?' started by fidgeter, Mar 23, 2016.

1. fidgeter

fidgeter

Hey guys, i've been looking for a new laptop for a while now and can't really narrow in on any.
    Essentially, i'm just looking for a smooth running laptop which doesn't give heating, connectivity, etc issues which i will be using on a daily basis.

I'm not technically very good with stuff but here's what i know i want:

8GB RAM.
    SSD (256GB i think?).
    Screen size of 13 inches (can go to 14 if i have to).
    My budget is about 50-55k INR (748-823 USD), can push it a bit more if it's really worth it.
    I would like it to be an investment for at least 6-7 years (been using a dell xps m1330 for 8 years now).

Here's what i'll be using it for primarily:
    Watch tv shows and movies, downloaded and streaming (a lot).
    Browsing the internet (a lot).
    Listening to music.
    Playing games sometimes (like Red alert, diablo, warcraft, mostly offline games).

I came across the Asus UX305LA but from a lot of reviews that i've read there seems to be problems with the wifi connectivity.

I was also looking at HP Pavilion x360 13t - but it's HDD
    and Lenovo Yoga 500 - 500GB SSHD. Hybrid drive. [which i don't know about, whether it's good, bad or ok].

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

fidgeter, Mar 23, 2016
  2. fidgeter

Personablue

Welcome to this forum and thanks for noting down your primary uses, it helps a lot to recommend, also I am from India too :)
    First I will tell you what are the things to look for
    1. Processor- Make sure it's from Intel and is an i5 or i7. Also do note that not all i5 or i7 are same. Make sure its of the recent gen. An i5 4200u is older than an i5 6200u.
    2. Ram- Aim for at least 8Gb DDR3. Make sure it's a tleast 1600MHz. 1333Mhz is old now.
    3. Storage- A SSD is not really necessary. You can save a lot of money if you simply go for a 1TB HDD