Login username and password in Acer One

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by criskeune, Sep 11, 2008.

1. criskeune

criskeune

Hello!

I have just bought this mini laptop, Acer Aspire One, AA110 model, with Linux Linpus installed. I have little knowledge about Linux and I did not understand why there is no "login system", with username and password, at the boot and start (as in Windows or even other Linux systems, like Suse). I don't know if there was a "first screen" to configure an username and password, since when I bought it from the store, the box was already opened, since the seller had made a RAM upgrade to 1GB RAM. I just know that when I press the "on/off" button, to initialize it, there is no login box for username and password. I thought this is vaery dangerous for security reasons, so I would like to know if someone can explain me more about this.

Thanks in advance,

Cristina

criskeune, Sep 11, 2008
  2. criskeune

Japser

AFAIK, on the One there is one user, simply called 'user'.
    Login is automatic, as this user.
    This user is in a group called 'wheel'.
    And wheel is in the sudoers file.

from /etc/group :
    and from /etc/sudoers :
    ( I took this from a copy of a restore-dvd. )

I have no idea what this means for security, I think the Acer/Linpus people wanted it to be as little frustrating as possible.

--Japser.

Japser, Sep 12, 2008
  3. criskeune

N6546R

N6546R, Sep 12, 2008
  4. criskeune

daldred

..but before doing this, do you have a password?

Just that if the vendor set one and didn't tell you, you'll be a bit stuck if you need it to get logged in!

daldred, Sep 12, 2008
  5. criskeune

N6546R

The password is the one that you used during initial setup of your AA1.

If you need to change or reset it, you can hit Alt-F2, then in the box that appears type:

sudo passwd user

And click 'Run in terminal'

This will let you change the password.

Perry
    www.kidpub.com

N6546R, Sep 12, 2008
  6. criskeune

daldred