Linux A110 not recognizing Flash memory through USB?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Pierre, Dec 7, 2008.

  1. Pierre

    Pierre

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I plug in my MP3 players (flash memory, all of them), the computer simply doesn't recognize them. Is there any way to counter this?
    My USB external harddrive is recognized just fine.

    My MP3 player has an SD slot so it's not that huge a deal, but a slight hassle nonetheless...

    Thanks guys!
     
    Pierre, Dec 7, 2008
    #1
  2. Pierre

    donec

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which Linux are you using?
     
    donec, Dec 8, 2008
    #2
  3. Pierre

    Pierre

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just the stock version that came with my Acer A110AB. Linpux I think?
     
    Pierre, Dec 8, 2008
    #3
  4. Pierre

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    Not all MP3 players present themselves to the world as external drives, so it's not uncommon to find one that won't automount. Flash memory keys however *should* automount, although again, they do come formatted sometimes in weird ways, again preventing successful automounts. To try and see what might be going on, you can try this:

    In a terminal do:

    Code:
    cd /var/log
    tail -f dmesg
    and while watching the terminal, plugin the drive and see if anything is reported.

    Use CTRL-C to end tail.

    Then you can also check to see what the system is seeing as connected by doing this:

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    This will show whether that external drive is even being seen by the system. You can post the results of each test here and maybe a solution can be found.

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Dec 8, 2008
    #4
  5. Pierre

    Pierre

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! The player is seen as an external drive by my Acer5 290G laptop.

    I'll try this but... what's a tail...?


    EDIT: ok I see what you meant then. Nothing happened in either tries. It didn't see anything happen. The MP3 player didn't present itself as 'docked' unlike on the laptop.

    EDIT 2: When I do the first code and plug in the external HDD that does work just fine, nothing appears either... and I still get the same lines for code 2.
     
    Pierre, Dec 8, 2008
    #5
  6. Pierre

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    Plug in one of those externals that don't want to autmount and run the command:

    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Then copy and paste the results of that command into this thread.

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Dec 8, 2008
    #6
  7. Pierre

    Pierre

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [user@localhost ~]$ sudo fdisk -1
    fdisk: invalid option -- 1

    Usage: fdisk [-b SSZ] [-u] DISK Change partition table
    fdisk -l [-b SSZ] [-u] DISK List partition table(s)
    fdisk -s PARTITION Give partition size(s) in blocks
    fdisk -v Give fdisk version
    Here DISK is something like /dev/hdb or /dev/sda
    and PARTITION is something like /dev/hda7
    -u: give Start and End in sector (instead of cylinder) units
    -b 2048: (for certain MO disks) use 2048-byte sectors
    [user@localhost ~]$

    Of course I have no clue what that all means... Thanks for the tips so far!
     
    Pierre, Dec 8, 2008
    #7
  8. Pierre

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    That was supposed to be an l (lower case L), not a 1 (one) :)

    Hint: If you'd copy and paste, you wouldn't make these mistakes.

    Try it again.

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Dec 9, 2008
    #8
  9. Pierre

    Pierre

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wooops my bad... Definitely should copy/paste. Ctrl+C/V doesn't work so I type it all manually instead of right clicking. Doh.

    Here's what I get:

    [user@localhost ~]$ sudo fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/sda: 8069 MB, 8069677056 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 981 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000000

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 850 6827593+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda2 851 981 1052257+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Looks like I only get the internal memory?
     
    Pierre, Dec 9, 2008
    #9
  10. Pierre

    ronime

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    What happens when you type "sudo lsusb" with the MP3 player plugged in?
     
    ronime, Dec 9, 2008
    #10
  11. Pierre

    Pierre

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    [user@localhost ~]$ sudo lsusb
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 001 Device 003: ID 041e:4157 Creative Technology, Ltd
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0c45:62c0 Acer Crystal Eye Webcam
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

    So it does see the MP3 player but I can't access its contents. Also the MP3 gets recharged when plugged into the A1. But it doesn't say it's docked.
     
    Pierre, Dec 9, 2008
    #11
  12. Pierre

    ronime

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    ronime, Dec 9, 2008
    #12
  13. Pierre

    Pierre

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aye it's also got its own software. But the big laptop also recognized it externally without the software. Ah well... got an 8GB SDHC memory card coming up soon so I should be just fine :) Thanks!
     
    Pierre, Dec 9, 2008
    #13
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.