Linpus Firefox messed up. Help needed to resolve coding prob

Discussion in 'Linux' started by F30, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. F30

    F30

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I'm totally new as Linux user. I have Acer Aspire One 150 with Linpus. I wanted to update Firefox version 2.0.0 from net, as the explorer has "check for updates" option disabled. I followed Macles instructions (http://macles.blogspot.com/2008/07/inst ... e-one.html) carefully but I managed to mess up my current desktop shortcut for Firefox (not working anymore) and did not manage to update to a newer version.

    The commands are totally new for me, therefore I'm totally lost with this problem now. All I know is that the shortcut of Firefox 2.0.0 is no longer working on my desktop and I did not manage in the update. Could some one please help me to sort out my problem by telling what to do next.
    THIS is what I did so far:

    u root
    [1] 16695
    [2] 16696
    bash: root: command not found
    [2]+ Done os=linux
    [[email protected] user]# --19:07:53-- http://download.mozilla.org/?product=firefox-3.0.1
    => `index.html?product=firefox-3.0.1'
    Resolving download.mozilla.org... 63.245.209.58
    Connecting to download.mozilla.org|63.245.209.58|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
    Location: http://mozilla.osmirror.nl/firefox/rele ... 03.0.1.exe [following]
    --19:08:13-- http://mozilla.osmirror.nl/firefox/rele ... 03.0.1.exe
    => `Firefox Setup 3.0.1.exe'
    Resolving mozilla.osmirror.nl... 85.12.47.162
    Connecting to mozilla.osmirror.nl|85.12.47.162|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 7,499,056 (7.2M) [application/octet-stream]

    100%[====================================>] 7,499,056 53.39K/s ETA 00:00

    19:10:54 (52.14 KB/s) - `Firefox Setup 3.0.1.exe' saved [7499056/7499056]

    sudo tar -jxf firefox-3.0.1.tar.bz2 --directory /opt
    tar: firefox-3.0.1.tar.bz2: Cannot open: No such file or directory
    tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now
    tar: Child returned status 2
    tar: Error exit delayed from previous errors
    [1]+ Done wget http://download.mozilla.org/?product=firefox-3.0.1
    [[email protected] user]# sudo chown user -R /opt/firefox
    chown: cannot access `/opt/firefox': No such file or directory
    [[email protected] user]# sudo ln -fs /opt/firefox/firefox /usr/bin/ff3
    [[email protected] user]# sudo sed '/Exec/ s/=firefox/=ff3/' -i /usr/share/applications/linpus-web.desktop
    [[email protected] user]# sudo sed '/Exec/ s/=firefox/=ff3/' -i /usr/share/applications/edesktop/*
    [[email protected] user]# sudo sed '/Exec/ s/=firefox/=ff3/' -i /usr/share/applications/edesktop/*
    [[email protected] user]#
    [[email protected] user]# sudo sed '/Exec/ s/=firefox/=ff3/' -i /usr/share/applications/edesktop/*
    [[email protected] user]# udo ln -s /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/* /opt/firefox/plugins
    bash: udo: command not found
    [[email protected] user]# sudo ln -s /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/* /opt/firefox/plugins
    ln: target `/opt/firefox/plugins' is not a directory
    [[email protected] user]#
    [[email protected] user]# sudo ln -s /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/* /opt/firefox/plugins
    ln: target `/opt/firefox/plugins' is not a directory
    [[email protected] user]# sudo ln -s /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/* /opt/firefox/plugins
    ln: target `/opt/firefox/plugins' is not a directory
    [[email protected] user]#

    What should I do next in order to get the Firefox updated and the shortcut working on my desktop?

    I appreciate your inputs! Thanks :)
     
    F30, Jan 18, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. F30

    woodland

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malta (but Dutch)
    Hi,

    You can get FF3 from the acer support site .. much easier than the Macles way.. it will restore your desktop icon to.

    in Linpus:
    Settings, click system info icon, go to the 4 tab on the right, click the link acer support site...

    sorry if the instructions are a bit vague... i'm no longer using linpus

    well i can do better go here: http://www.acer.com/aspireone/support/f ... nnect.html
     
    woodland, Jan 18, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. F30

    F30

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installed ok, shortcut still not working

    I followed your advise and went to the official Acer support page. Easy install and it worked perfectly. Although this version has also "check for updates" disabled in it. but never mind the explorer works...
    Still it did not correct my Browser icon on my desktop. When I click or double clik the Browser icon it will not open.. :geek:

    So the next question is, how to make the Browser icon to work?

    rgds, Female in trouble :shock:
     
    F30, Jan 18, 2009
    #3
  4. F30

    woodland

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malta (but Dutch)
    I stole a bit from here: viewtopic.php?f=44&t=123&hilit=group+app+xml for you

    if you are unhappy with editing the file yourself....
    do some searches on this forum on how to edit group-app.xml
    if that doesn't help you;
    Start a new topic and list the contents of the group-app.xml file in your post.

    Regards,
    knight in shiny armor on white horse :lol: :lol:
     
    woodland, Jan 18, 2009
    #4
  5. F30

    F30

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    F30, Jan 19, 2009
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.