lagging music and video playback

Discussion in 'Windows' started by sonofamitch, Apr 7, 2009.

1. sonofamitch

sonofamitch

this is my first time making a post on here.

ive had an aspire one since december and loved the thing. but recently on a trip to florida it was off for a while, upon turning it back on i experienced slower boot times, and lagging in all video and audio playback. ive done various virus scans and ran a few utilities to speed it up. however to no avail. im fairly computer literate but i cant figure out for the world of me why this would be happening. i have alot of video from the trip that i would like to do light editing to and burn to a dvd, but cannot do so until getting this problem solved.

any help at all is appreciated.

sonofamitch, Apr 7, 2009
  2. sonofamitch

TechMark

i know the exact way to fix this.

right click on my computer, and go to properties. select hardware and then select device manager. click the + next to IDE controllers. Right click primary IDE channel and select uninstall. You will be asked to reboot. Reboot and the system will reinstall this for you. Reboot again and it should all be working. I've had to do this about 10 times on my machines so far.

TechMark, Apr 8, 2009
  3. sonofamitch

sonofamitch

thanks man, worked like a charm.

sonofamitch, Apr 10, 2009
  4. sonofamitch

GvidoR

There was the same problem with my brothers girlfriends Aspire One and this worked, thanks!
    I wonder what causes this to happen? A virus or what, because it has never happened to me.

GvidoR, Apr 10, 2009
  5. sonofamitch

goofball

Windows will try to initialize DMA mode on the controller. When it can't do this (it tries multiple times), it falls back to PIO mode, which along with slower speed, also increases the CPU usage immensely.

goofball, Apr 11, 2009
  6. sonofamitch

ohthatsgood

this fix worked for me! thank you! i don't totally understand your explanation, though. is there a way to prevent this?