Is Ubunto worth the install?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by bluelloydpugh, Oct 29, 2008.

1. bluelloydpugh

bluelloydpugh

Hello there

I have recently purchased the 8gig A110 with linpus linux on it. I am new to Linux and am enjoying learning about it.
    It does appear though that a lot of peoples opinons are not in favour of Linpus. From my point of view it does appear to be a bit tricky to install apps, and it does seem a little on the basic side without modification and tweaking.

If I were to install Ubunto, would it be an easier operating system to install apps and games on?
    I realise it's possible to install XP, but i am guessing ubunto will perform faster. Is it the middle ground between a fast light Linux operating system and the more compatable windows XP?
    I am also more intersted in Ubunto than XP as i do enjoy trying things i have not tried before.

If i were to install, I must admit i would probably wait for KUKI Linux (hope they keep up the good work :D ), on fear of messing up my system, espcially on the tweaking side of things.
    But i'm definately interested in hearing the pro's (and cons) of Ubunto over Acers Linpus

Cheers,
    Lloyd

bluelloydpugh, Oct 29, 2008
  2. bluelloydpugh

Hans

Yes its worth it. The choice you have is three fold.
    1. Install 8.04, and fix what needs fixing.
    2. Install 8.10 and live with poor 3D performance (and have to make a slight tweak for wireless).
    3. Wait for Kuki as you suggested, and have everything work :p.

The main reasons you want to install Ubuntu (or in fact an other mainline distribution, there are several good ones) are two fold:
    1. Updates, updates, updates: you will be more secure, and broken stuff gets fixed (and to honest, sometimes good stuff gets broken).
    2. It is easy to install new software from the software repositories. The variety and range is staggering.

And finally, if you want light, go Xubuntu.

Hans

Hans, Oct 29, 2008
  3. bluelloydpugh

bluelloydpugh