is there any way to display the CPU temperature?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by nivi78, May 29, 2009.

  1. nivi78

    nivi78

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed Ubuntu netbook remix 9.04 and so far been really pleased with it. The only thing that bothers me is the noisy fan, but before aplying the acerfand patch I would like to find a way to display the cpu temperature. So far I tried to install and run lm-sensor but the AAO sensor doesn´t get recognized. And with acpi I didn´t get luckier... Is there anyone who found a way to get any temperature monitor runing under Ubuntu?
     
    nivi78, May 29, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. nivi78

    edwinv

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    install conky -- either via synaptic
    or via terminal sudo apt-get install conky
     
    edwinv, May 29, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. nivi78

    abzack

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you get your cpu temp to display yet? If not, it took me a while to get it working but this is what I did (after digging around in here for a while).
    I'm running crunchbang linux (but I don't think distro matters) with Sarvatt's 2.6.30-rc3-atom kernel, lm-sensors, and conky on my desktop. I added the following line to conky:

    CPU Temp:${alignr}${execi 1 sensors | grep "Core 0" | cut -d "+" -f2 | cut -c1-6}

    It displays the temp in Celcius.
     
    abzack, May 29, 2009
    #3
  4. nivi78

    nivi78

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    not yet, but since I´m making my first steps in the linux world, it might take a while. So far lm-sensor couldn´t find any temperature sensor to return a value. I guess it must be because of the kernel. Anyway...thanks a lot for your feedback, it´s much appreciated!
     
    nivi78, May 30, 2009
    #4
  5. nivi78

    abzack

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    abzack, May 30, 2009
    #5
  6. nivi78

    spankbot

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Without installing anything, you can also just do the following as root (AAO D150).

    Code:
    cat /proc/acpi/thermal_zone/THRM/temperature
     
    spankbot, May 30, 2009
    #6
  7. nivi78

    nivi78

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    @abzack: I really like the idea of using a customized kernel for the Aspire one but unfortunately it seems that it doesn´t work with the 110 model with SSD yet (which unfortunately is exactely the model I have). Thanks for the idea though...

    @spankbot: The problem is that my /proc/acpi/thermal_zone folder is empty (there´s not even a sub-folder there).
     
    nivi78, May 31, 2009
    #7
  8. nivi78

    spankbot

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    AAO D150 with UNR 9.04 :)
     
    spankbot, May 31, 2009
    #8
  9. nivi78

    abzack

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, I guess that would be an issue then. I have the AOA150.
    There is also the sickboy kernel 2.6.28.9.20090416.kuki, which is also really good. I was running it before I loaded Sarvatt's kernel. You'll have to do some research for the 110 model though.
    You can get the kernel here: http://www.kuki.me/downloads/
    Some of the tips in this wiki may help if you decide to use the kuki kernel: http://crunchbanglinux.org/wiki/howto/aspireone
     
    abzack, May 31, 2009
    #9
  10. nivi78

    madwoolything

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put the following in my conky file and am managing to display CPU temp (A110L)

    ${execi 1 cat /sys/class/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp}

    Hope this works for others.
     
    madwoolything, Jul 22, 2009
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.