Intel 5300 Error 10! PLS HELP

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by yyy349, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. yyy349

    yyy349

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys,

    I've been trying to get this to work for like 12 hours. This morning I replaced the standard wireless card with a new Intel 5300 card. I boot up the netbook and install all the drivers and stuff for it but I get this error ten message saying that the Device cannot start :S

    Any help is greatly appreciated

    Thanks :S
     
    yyy349, Nov 30, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. yyy349

    riff2002

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to hear about that. Just as an FYI, I also am using an Intel 5300 on my Aspire One. I made sure to not allow windows to try and install drivers. I first installed the Intel PROSet/Wireless WiFi Connection Utility which is supposed to include drivers, however, to make sure that the drivers were the most current, I installed the 5300 driver pack anyways after the software installed. After the installation was complete I restarted my PC. And the wireless worked right away, I don't even recall windows even asking me to install drivers for my new hardware.

    Intel seems to have updated their drivers on 11/24/2008

    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filter_ ... bmit=Go%21

    I wish there was more I could say, I have an AOA150-1049 and have not done any bios updates since I purchased it. I just got tired of my Atheros wireless card crapping out, so I decided to do the intel upgrade. Plus I was planning on getting a good wireless N router to add to my network this last black Friday weekend, (49.99 + tax, yay).

    I didn't follow the posted installation instructions on the message board to a "T", I ended up leaving the monitor intact and only installed a new antenna for the center card connection which I ran between the black & white wires and taped off close to the upper corner of the hard drive. (I just had an older wireless scrap router that I took the antenna connector from and used that.). My brother is an EE, and I might ask him if the way the internal antennas' were connected could be causing your problems, I'm just a computer tech, I know that the error code your getting is either a hardware or driver failure. Considering my model of the aspire one, I know that the intel chipset supports the 5300 card, that limits your concerns to the driver installation, the actual hardware installation, or the hardware itself (perhaps a bad card?).

    I never found anyone posting that the 5300 did in fact work, so I hope some of this helps,

    - Josh
     
    riff2002, Dec 2, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. yyy349

    adrianaitken

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use 5300 and they worked just fine out of the box. I only installed the actual drivers via hardware manager rather than run the setup program. I use Windows Wireless manager to control it.
    Waiting to actually get a n-router but at the moment it gives better signal strength than the old card did at distances.
     
    adrianaitken, Dec 12, 2008
    #3
  4. yyy349

    jhill101

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    jhill101, Jan 8, 2009
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.