Intel 5100 vs. 5300 WiFi card

Discussion in 'Networking' started by troy561, May 12, 2009.

  1. troy561

    troy561

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greetings,

    I"ll appreciate your help to take the decision in the purchase of a WiFi card. I would like to install an Intel WiFi on my AAO D150-1322 (10.1"). I'm concentrated in either the 5100 or 5300 series card. I would appreciate if anyone can explain the major differences between the two, and which one performs better. I noticed that the 5100 uses two antennas vs three on the 5300. What impact does the third antenna bring to the 5300 in terms of signal strength. If I purchase the 5100, do I need to perform and modification or will it work with the stock antennas that came with the AAO? If I purchase the 5300, can I work it with two antennas? How difficult would it be to install the third antenna?

    Thanks in advance for your response. I'm sorry if I'm posting a topic previously discussed. I made a search before posting and couldn't find anything.
     
    troy561, May 12, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. troy561

    melhiore

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancashire, UK
    I was using 5300 with three aerials. There is no major difference in terms of using 2 or 3 aerials. You not getting BETTER range as aerials are installed very close to each other so they work virtually as one in the same place... 5300 can work with two aerials - it's not the problem...

    If you need proper mod to add up 3rd aerial then you have to fully open AA1 and LCD cover and place another antenna. It's not difficult - it's just taking the time and you MUST BE careful and not damage anything while opening AA1.
     
    melhiore, May 12, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. troy561

    GvidoR

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Japan.
    I'm using Intel WiFi Link 5100 AGN and it seems to work well...
     
    GvidoR, May 12, 2009
    #3
  4. troy561

    troy561

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greetings,

    Thanks for a quick response. I think I will try with the 5300 and using the stock aerials. If for any reason I think I need a third aerial, then I will jump the bandwagon of making the proper mod to add the additional aerial. :p
     
    troy561, May 13, 2009
    #4
  5. troy561

    tomfoolery

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    5300 gets my vote. Just put one in to replace the horrible Atheros card. Used only the two wires and left the middle one disconnected. It's streaming internet radio to my wifi speakers as I write - This is good. Plus on my D150 there was a door to access the mini-pci card on the bottom of the unit - read: one screw to get at it.
     
    tomfoolery, May 30, 2009
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.