Instant Messaging (REALLY strange Problem)

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ptechno, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. ptechno

    ptechno

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just got my Aspire One now, and, great, but i go to messenger, I write my msn account and password and it says to me "Error at Autenticating" (in spanish)
    So what *** **** is going on? I cant log in with any account!
    Anyone knows?
     
    ptechno, Jul 29, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ptechno

    Rautiaij

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Helsinki. Finland
    Since yesterday I have not been able to sign in to my msn messenger account. on my A1 (Linpus). I get Unable to authenticate: unknown error, every time I try to sign in. My wife has also a msn account and she manage to sign in without problems. I signed in with my laptop at my job and there where no problems at all. Could someone give me some advice what might be wrong.
     
    Rautiaij, Jul 29, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ptechno

    KiNG

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    last couple of days msn has been giving me trouble signing in also on my standard desktop pc, ms must be upgrading their servers or something.
     
    KiNG, Jul 29, 2008
    #3
  4. ptechno

    ptechno

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    But the thing is: Im in my desktop PC, logged in, i close session, I go to AA1 and try to login and it says Server Authentication failed. I logged into Gtalk and it worked, there's a BUG because you can just login in messenger with MSN OR HOTMAIL accounts, not Windows Live Accounts (any email registered in messenger servers that arent MSN or HOTMAIL).
    It might be fixed with updates, but I have a problem with the Updater...
     
    ptechno, Jul 29, 2008
    #4
  5. ptechno

    Rautiaij

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Helsinki. Finland
    ptecno, I think you're right concerning that it's only msn and hotmail accounts that work with A1's messenger, because my wife has a hotmail account and she manage to sign in without any problems. The strange thing was that it also worked for me for a while after the live update. But like I said, I have not been able to sign in since the last 2-3 days. My msn account is something else than msn.com or hotmail.com, i.e. [email protected] <- I think also this is the problem in A1's messenger.
    I don't think it's a msn server problem, because I manage to sign in with an other computer just a few seconds after I got this sign in error in A1.
     
    Rautiaij, Jul 30, 2008
    #5
  6. ptechno

    Trench

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wasn't happy with the stock messenger. Recommendations are Pidgeon or aMSN both work fine :).
     
    Trench, Jul 31, 2008
    #6
  7. ptechno

    ptechno

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its Pidgin ;)
     
    ptechno, Jul 31, 2008
    #7
  8. ptechno

    ghostrc

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to hijack but does the built in messenger allow VOIM for google talk or is it just IM.

    Many thanks
     
    ghostrc, Aug 5, 2008
    #8
  9. ptechno

    mikeal

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got similar problem. I even restored the system. Still no luck. The error message is

    Your MSN Messenger account [email protected] is error
    Our protocol is not supported by the server.

    But it worked before
     
    mikeal, Aug 6, 2008
    #9
  10. ptechno

    Rose De Head

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use on-line update, update the "acer communication suite" then can sign in msn. Looked like MSFT server blocked acer's messenger client.
     
    Rose De Head, Aug 8, 2008
    #10
  11. ptechno

    mikeal

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Rose De Head, It's working now! Yeah :lol:
     
    mikeal, Aug 11, 2008
    #11
  12. ptechno

    nngomes

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Porto, Portugal
    I donĀ“t have my aspire one here but im also having this problem. After the update, does the webcam works? And the mic?

    Thanks!
     
    nngomes, Aug 12, 2008
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.