installed opensuse but resolution is bigger then the 8" scre

Discussion in 'Linux' started by cv65user, Nov 30, 2008.

  1. cv65user

    cv65user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    i installed opensuse v11 but resolution is bigger then the 8" screen so the bottom of the screen task bar is cut off but if connect to an external 17 " monitor its ok , i then change display settings to 800 * 600 then its ok .,

    but if i reboot , etc , as i am using dual boot xp . if i boot to open suse again , i will have same problem again .
     
    cv65user, Nov 30, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cv65user

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    Look at /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    The first resolution on the Modes line in the "Screen" section becomes the default resolution. Change that.

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Nov 30, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cv65user

    cv65user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    to what pls , if anyone has set it
     
    cv65user, Nov 30, 2008
    #3
  4. cv65user

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    Have "1024x600" as the first resolution setting on the modes line.

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Nov 30, 2008
    #4
  5. cv65user

    cv65user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    there also an option to type any additional c ommands at boot loader time so i can type

    vga = 1024 x 600
    or
    vga = 1024* 600 ?
     
    cv65user, Nov 30, 2008
    #5
  6. cv65user

    cv65user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm it says tht already
     
    cv65user, Nov 30, 2008
    #6
  7. cv65user

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    Typically those additions only effect a CLI console, not the GUI console.

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Nov 30, 2008
    #7
  8. cv65user

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    Well that's the way one sets the default resolution for all the Linux distros I'm familiar with. Don't know why it isn't working with Suse? I don't use Suse, so maybe someone who does, can help you out?

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Nov 30, 2008
    #8
  9. cv65user

    cv65user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thx for your help in mean time . any one else pls
     
    cv65user, Nov 30, 2008
    #9
  10. cv65user

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    here's the xorg.conf file I'm using with Fedora 10:
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    	ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    	FontPath     "catalogue:/etc/X11/fontpath.d"
    	FontPath     "built-ins"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    	Load  "glx"
    	Load  "dbe"
    	Load  "dri"
    	Load  "extmod"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    	Driver      "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Mouse0"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "auto"
    	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "Monitor0"
    	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    	ModelName    "Monitor Model"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            ### Available Driver options are:-
            ### Values: [i]: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
            ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
            ### [arg]: arg optional
    	Option "NoMTRR" "True"
            #Option     "NoAccel"            	# [<bool>]
            #Option     "SWcursor"           	# [<bool>]
            #Option     "ColorKey"           	# [i]
            #Option     "CacheLines"         	# [i]
            #Option     "Dac6Bit"            	# [<bool>]
            #Option     "DRI"                	# [<bool>]
            #Option     "NoDDC"              	# [<bool>]
            #Option     "ShowCache"          	# [<bool>]
            #Option     "XvMCSurfaces"       	# [i]
            #Option     "PageFlip"           	# [<bool>]
    	Identifier  "Card0"
    	Driver      "intel"
    	VendorName  "Intel Corporation"
    	BoardName   "Mobile 945GME Express Integrated Graphics Controller"
    	BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen0"
    	Device     "Card0"
    	Monitor    "Monitor0"
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     1
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     4
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     8
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     15
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     16
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
     
    RockDoctor, Nov 30, 2008
    #10
  11. cv65user

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    Posting your xorg.conf here might help. I doubt that it is structured like Fedora's after looking at that one from RockDoctor and considering yours has Modes lines.

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Nov 30, 2008
    #11
  12. cv65user

    Ausweider

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    in /etc/sysconfig/displaymanager change:
    DISPLAYMANAGER_RANDR_MODE_VGA="summatsortheother"
    to
    DISPLAYMANAGER_RANDR_MODE_VGA=""

    try that, restart after you altered the file.

    or speaking of experience; install 11.1rc1, it works fairly well out the box i find
     
    Ausweider, Dec 1, 2008
    #12
  13. cv65user

    cv65user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    i found the file and the lines is set to auto . i deleted that but when i save the org file it wont let me . i am presuming some sort of access right. but my opensuse logs straight in without any problerms

    how do i re log in as ad min but i am pretty surte i am admin already
     
    cv65user, Dec 1, 2008
    #13
  14. cv65user

    Ausweider

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    admin its called root in linux and if you got a hash/pound/square (#) at the front of your bash line you're root:
    s15236420:~ # whoami
    root

    also dont delete the whole line, just unset the variable

    btw, command to become root is "su"
     
    Ausweider, Dec 1, 2008
    #14
  15. cv65user

    cv65user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    # /.../
    # SaX generated X11 config file
    # Created on: 2008-11-30T18:15:30+0000.
    #
    # Version: 8.1
    # Contact: Marcus Schaefer <[email protected]>, 2005
    # Contact: SaX-User list <https://lists.berlios.de/mailman/listinfo/sax-users>
    #
    # Automatically generated by [ISaX] (8.1)
    # PLEASE DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE!
    #

    Section "Files"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/URW"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/Speedo"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/PEX"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin2/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/latin7/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/baekmuk:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/japanese:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/kwintv"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/truetype"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/uni:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/CID"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/ucs/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/hellas/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc/sgi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/xtest"
    FontPath "/opt/kde3/share/fonts"
    InputDevices "/dev/gpmdata"
    InputDevices "/dev/input/mice"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "AIGLX" "on"
    Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "on"
    Option "ZapWarning" "on"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "glx"
    Load "dri"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "kbd"
    Identifier "Keyboard[0]"
    Option "Protocol" "Standard"
    Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
    Option "XkbModel" "microsoftpro"
    Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    EndSection


    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Identifier "Mouse[1]"
    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "on"
    Option "HorizScrollDelta" "0"
    Option "InputFashion" "Mouse"
    Option "Name" "Synaptics;Touchpad"
    Option "Protocol" "explorerps/2"
    Option "SHMConfig" "on"
    Option "Vendor" "Sysp"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "mouse"
    Identifier "Mouse[3]"
    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Name" "ImPS/2 Generic Wheel Mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "explorerps/2"
    Option "Vendor" "Sysp"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection


    Section "Monitor"
    DisplaySize 215 135
    HorizSync 30-50
    Identifier "Monitor[0]"
    ModelName "AUO LCD MONITOR"
    Option "DPMS"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1600x1024"
    VendorName "AUO"
    VertRefresh 50-60
    UseModes "Modes[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Modes"
    Identifier "Modes[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Screen"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1600x1024" "1600x1000" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x960" "1366x768" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1280x720" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1600x1024" "1600x1000" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x960" "1366x768" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1280x720" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1600x1024" "1600x1000" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x960" "1366x768" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1280x720" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1600x1024" "1600x1000" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x960" "1366x768" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1280x720" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    Device "Device[0]"
    Identifier "Screen[0]"
    Monitor "Monitor[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Device"
    BoardName "945 GME"
    BusID "0:2:0"
    Driver "intel"
    Identifier "Device[0]"
    Option "SaXDualHead"
    Option "monitor-LVDS" "Monitor[0]"
    Option "SaXDualMonitorVendor" "--> VESA"
    Option "SaXDualOrientation" "RightOf"
    Option "SaXDualResolution" "1024x768"
    Option "SaXDualMode" "Xinerama"
    Option "SaXDualHSync" "31-50"
    Option "SaXDualMonitorModel" "[email protected]"
    Option "SaXDualVSync" "50-60"
    Option "SaXExternal" "Identifier&EXT+DisplaySize&+VendorName&--> VESA+RightOf&Monitor[0]+PreferredMode&1024x768+HorizSync&31-50+ModelName&[email protected]+VertRefresh&50-60"
    Screen 0
    VendorName "Intel"
    EndSection


    Section "Monitor"
    HorizSync 31-50
    Identifier "EXT"
    ModelName "[email protected]"
    Option "RightOf" "Monitor[0]"
    Option "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
    VendorName "--> VESA"
    VertRefresh 50-60
    EndSection


    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout[all]"
    InputDevice "Keyboard[0]" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse[1]" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Mouse[3]" "SendCoreEvents"
    Option "Clone" "off"
    Option "Xinerama" "off"
    Screen "Screen[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "DRI"
    Group "video"
    Mode 0660
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite" "on"
    EndSection
     
    cv65user, Dec 1, 2008
    #15
  16. cv65user

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    Try commenting out this line:

    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    #Modes "1600x1024" "1600x1000" "1280x1024" "1440x900" "1280x960" "1366x768" "1280x800" "1152x864" "1280x768" "1280x720" "1024x768" "1280x600" "1024x600" "800x600" "768x576" "640x480"

    and add below it:

    Modes "1024x600" "1024x768" "800x600"

    This *should* make 1024x600 the default.

    Of course backup your xorg.conf before editing:

    sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.original

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Dec 1, 2008
    #16
  17. cv65user

    cv65user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    it kps says doc copuld not be saved as not possible to write to conf . check that y ou write access to disk or enough disk space

    but i have 1.8gb disk spsace free
     
    cv65user, Dec 1, 2008
    #17
  18. cv65user

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    You need to edit it as root
     
    RockDoctor, Dec 1, 2008
    #18
  19. cv65user

    cv65user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am confuise now which file am i meant to be editing

    etc/X11/xorg.conf - just edited this and rebooted still the same
    or
    etc/sysconfig/displaymanager
     
    cv65user, Dec 1, 2008
    #19
  20. cv65user

    cv65user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok just reaslised i have an root account , am in now
     
    cv65user, Dec 1, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.