I want an iTunes-y music player - options?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Payndz, Aug 15, 2008.

1. Payndz

Payndz

Okay, so the default Media Master program on the Linpus One is a piece of garbage - but what's the best program to replace it with?

I'm normally a Mac user, so I want something that's similar to iTunes - ie, I have a big list of music files that can be sorted by title, artist, album, whatever, and I can make playlists from that master list. That's basically all I need. I don't need album covers, visualisers, podcasts, streams, databases that fill in all the missing facts about every single track, or anything else like that - just easy access to my music. So what's the best choice?

Bear in mind that A: I'm a Linux newbie, and B: I tried Amarok and hated it. (Sorry if that's your favourite player, but it just didn't do the trick for me.) So with those considerations, does anyone have any recommendations?

Payndz, Aug 15, 2008
  2. Payndz

Sid

Suggestion.....

Load OSX and then load iTunes?

See the OSX thread, really.

Sid, Aug 16, 2008
  3. Payndz

Payndz

:lol: But seriously...

Payndz, Aug 16, 2008
  4. Payndz

Sid

No I mean it, if having iTunes is your main criteria then OSX or Windoze it the way to go, no linux app does all that iTunes does.

Please list your main requirements for the One?

Also what One do you have the SSD or HDD?

Sid, Aug 16, 2008
  5. Payndz

Sid

It seems a bit strange wanting to carry a "big list of music files" on a One when you use a Mac?
    I have to ask, why you don't carry the music on an iPod?
    The audio out of the One is not that stunning.

Sid, Aug 16, 2008
  6. Payndz

SbM