Hydrogen - Audacity - Audio lag

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Toma, Aug 28, 2008.

1. Toma

Toma

Ive got some issues. As a musician, I really hoped the AA1 could at least do some simple multitracking and drum loop creating. Sadly, Ive been cut short. Audacity fails to even do 2 tracks and Hydrogen is horrible at keeping time. Does anyone have any ideas how to fix this? Ive tried Jack, Alsa and trying to change the settings of them both havent yeilded any better results.

Toma, Aug 28, 2008
  2. Toma

MusicMeister

Which model of the AA1 do you have? and are you using the stock configuration?

I'll do some testing shortly and let you know if I find a solution...

MusicMeister, Aug 28, 2008
  3. Toma

Toma

Acer A110 ZG5 with stock Linpus. Ive gained a little more knowledge on the hardware and seems that the XRUNS are caused by a slow audio processor and needs at least 3 periods in jack. But for some reason jack is doing all sorts of nasty when running it with "jackd -d alsa -n 3"

Toma, Aug 29, 2008
  4. Toma

sideways

Try installing qjackctl to make configuration easier:
    Code:
    sudo yum install qjackctl
    In qjackctl Setup uncheck realtime,and try setting Frames/Period to 512, Periods/Buffer to 6 (This will give a 64msec latency which is probably the best you'll get)

The Aspire One linpus lite is missing so many kernel modules it makes audio and midi a real pain, I haven't been able to get it to work yet.

I will be upgrading to Fedora 10 later this year once it is stable.

sideways, Aug 29, 2008
  5. Toma

Phil_Urich

I actually picked up my own AA1 for a very similar purpose, however I only did so less than 24 hours ago so I haven't had much time to tinker (and won't tonight). A few thoughts occur to me, though.