HP Envy 13 (16/17) or Asus Zenbook UX330UA?

Discussion in 'Which Laptop should I buy?' started by Becstar, Apr 18, 2017.

1. Becstar

Becstar

Evening All!

I am hoping to get some advice on which lightweight laptop to buy. My needs are day-to-day work use (I'm a teacher so mainly MS Office stuff) and also moderate web browsing, use of Netflix etc for the odd film. Portability is essential so as light as possible and also battery life is fairly important.

My maximum budget is £850 and after days and days of research, have narrowed it down to the HP Envy 13 (16/17 model) or Asus Zenbook UX330 (both are Core i5/8GB RAM/256GB SSD). As far as I can tell, for a very similar price, they both have a very similar spec but my confusion comes from all the little differences that I just haven't got the knowledge to appreciate the significance of. For example, one comes with a SATA SSD and the other with a PCle SSD; one comes with Skylake and one with Kaby Lake, etc. In addition to this, in the reviews I've read and watched, there seems to be no comparisons between the two so there are different criticisms and points of praise for each machine and now I can't see the wood for the trees!!

If anyone can help me out with this or has experience of both (or even if anyone would like to suggest and alternative that beats both of these for the money) I would be most grateful. I'm sure I'm looking too deeply into it and putting too much weight on 'incidentals', so if someone can just give me a virtual shake and tell me to just get a grip and buy (insert laptop here), that would be great! If not, I'm just gonna flip a coin!

One more thing, if I could stretch, would it be worth me saving for a bit longer and getting a core i7 and 512GB SSD for my usage?

Oh yes, lastly, I've also been into PC World to experience them in real life and I still can't decide as they both look and feel great to me! Aggghhhh!!

Thanks in advance everyone - hope you can help!

Last edited: Apr 19, 2017