How tp play video & what formats

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by bobengland, Nov 7, 2008.

1. bobengland

bobengland

I am new to the Acer and think it is a great piece of kit but..... Linux is an absolute nightmare to deal with. I want to play downloaded videos which use the .AVI format. I have tried following a similar thread on how to install a Linux equivalent file but have got absolutely nowhere. In very very simple terms can anybody give me instructions on what I need to do to enable me to view the avi format. All I get is the sound but no picture. Also, are there any video formats already embedded in Linux as it might be easier to find compatible videos rather than using avi. Many thanks.

bobengland, Nov 7, 2008
  2. bobengland

Blingin2Mingin

AVI (Audio Video Interleave) is a container format and may contain a number of video formats. Some of which will play on the Linpus bundled media player.
    I think what you require is support for the XviD/DivX video formats in an AVI container. This will require the installation of either the VLC player or codecs to play XviD from within the bundled player.
    The easiest option for me was to install VLC.
    There are multiple ways to do this, either install from the Acer support site. (Warning this method will not play XviD unless you take the measures shown in this post).
    http://www.aspireoneuser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=6130#p40562

Or install Vlc using yum.

http://www.aspireoneuser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=167#p1073

Any dependancy error is cured by following the instructions here.

http://macles.blogspot.com/2008/09/updated-repositories.html

Your question has been asked countless times, whilst all this information is already available on this forum you just have to search.

Blingin2Mingin, Nov 7, 2008
  3. bobengland

Duncan_Rowland

I agree, vlc is great... (especially installed via yum in this case).