How to remove desktop icons

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Poldie, Sep 23, 2008.

1. Poldie

Poldie

Not one of them - all of them, and the boxes around them (`connect`, `files` etc), and the search bar. I just want to see the backdrop and use the panel at the bottom and the right mouse button to run apps.

Cheers.

Poldie, Sep 23, 2008
  2. Poldie

kapinouwi

kapinouwi, Sep 23, 2008
  3. Poldie

Poldie

Thanks - I'll give that a go. I did see that when I was browsing this forum, but I don't know what a `kfce4 desktop` is! I've added it to my list of things to learn:

linux file system
    compiz/fusion/emerald
    rpm
    yum

etc etc

It's a steep curve (I'm a Windows developer) but I'm going to keep climbing it.

Poldie, Sep 23, 2008
  4. Poldie

kapinouwi

i'm a linux beginner too! ;)

kapinouwi, Sep 23, 2008
  5. Poldie

Poldie

I had a look there. It goes on for 5 pages, and I'm not sure that the problems involved in doing it that way are resolved. It seems to have negative effects on some aspects of the system.

I tried it manually (ie typing the commands in the script into Terminal by hand rather than running it as a script. When I try and kill the process (?) and run a new one, it works, but I get an error, and when I close the Terminal program it makes the new interface go away. I googled and it seems that putting & at the end of a command makes the new process fork, which I assumed meant that it would be independent of the Terminal session, but this doesn't seem to be the case - unless the error message is telling me that it couldn't fork. I can try again later and report back on exactly when the error occurs and what it says. I tried a few different things. I was making the changes in a Terminal box rather than entering scripts (i'm not online with the netbook yet) and sticking them in the startup folder because I don't want to render my netbook unbootable.

Poldie, Sep 24, 2008
  6. Poldie

HomeBrewRon

Hi Poldie