How do I include my new AAO in my existing MS home network?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by johnx, Oct 12, 2008.

1. johnx

johnx

I have an existing MS home network and would like to include my new AAO. Is there a very simple way of doing this please?

Please note, for me, when it comes to Linux, 'here be dragons'!

johnx, Oct 12, 2008
  2. johnx

scottro

It's probably not all that simple. To communicate with MS machines, Linux uses the cifs protocol, supplied by samba.

With more complete distributions, it often works out of the box, but I'm not sure about Linpus (I don't have one to test here.)
    I have a page on samba, but again, it's not quite that simple. With Linpus, I would guess (but this is only a guess) that you would do

sudo yum -y install samba samba-client samba-common

Then you could try
    sudo service smb start
    sudo service nmb start

What you do next depends upon whether you want to use Linpus to access the Windows boxes or the WIndows machines to access the Linpus box.

Again, it's not all that trivial. With more complete distributions, it's relatively simple in a home environment, but I haven't tried with Linpus.
    I have a beginner's tutorial on Samba (but not for Linpus, and it's actually somewhat dated) at
    http://home.nyc.rr.com/computertaijutsu/samba.html

scottro, Oct 12, 2008
  3. johnx

johnx

Thanks Scottro. Looks like I'm going to have to learn Linux whether I like it or not!

johnx, Oct 15, 2008
  4. johnx

nmesisca

joining a linux machine to a Windows domain was a joke before, and still remains a joke.
    this is the reason why linux has not yet been adopted by the mass of people.
    I have tried it all before, and wasted way too much time, unsuccessfully.
    good luck with this mate, let us know.

nmesisca, Oct 15, 2008
  5. johnx

gadgetmind