how do i get msn messenger,someone please help!!!

Discussion in 'Linux' started by haribo, Dec 29, 2008.

1. haribo

haribo

hello, i've just purchased the linux aspire one for my girlfriend, neither of us are particularly computer friendly but for her purposes it is fine. She just uses it for fun, games , internet and chat. ive never used linux before and have no idea how to download. ive read other posts and cant get past the computer jargon. All i want to do is install a version of msn messenger. when ive downloaded it i cant access it through the downloads folder. im a complete beginner at this, someone please help. i cant seem to access the messenger and email service on the system, either. it seems to require an email address but does not accept hotmail. im extremely confused. other than connect to wireless ive as yet not done a thing to the system. am i supposed to? is there anyone that can help my computer frazzled mind.

haribo, Dec 29, 2008
  2. haribo

daldred

There is already a messenger on the Aspire One. If you have run all the Live Updates, it should connect to MSN. I have a hotmail address and it connects for me.

Running the updates may well be what you have missed. The Live Update function is in the Settings area (there's a Settings icon sort of bottom right of the home screen). They will take some time to run - Acer's servers are slow at the best of times, and a lot of people got these little things for christmas and are updating for the first time!

There is no way you will get a standard Windows program like MSN running on a Linux machine without a great deal of work - that's like expecting a diesel truck to run on airline fuel. You can install a Windows emulator, but why bother if the functionality is there already?

daldred, Dec 29, 2008
  3. haribo

haribo

ok, i've clicked on live updates, it updated for a few minutes then this came up:

'incorrect information file
    please re-run live update again to fix the problem.'