How come ASUS1101HA's Z520 overclocks to 1.73Ghz and 751h no

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by coldonline, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. coldonline

    coldonline

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    coldonline, Jul 2, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. coldonline

    runtohell121

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    umm.. one has a fan.. one doesn't? acer is quiet without a noticeable fan or don't even have one. asus have a fan so that it can actually cool the cpu better than the acer. does that explain it?
     
    runtohell121, Jul 3, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. coldonline

    Felix[GER]

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe the ASUS has better RAM which is more overclocking-friendly? This issue could be solved ;)
     
    Felix[GER], Jul 3, 2009
    #3
  4. coldonline

    Epedemic

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uhm, my 751 has a quite noticable fan!
     
    Epedemic, Jul 3, 2009
    #4
  5. coldonline

    40rty

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^^^^ What!? Its passively cooled, no way.
     
    40rty, Jul 3, 2009
    #5
  6. coldonline

    runtohell121

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    from another forum or a topic i saw, they say the acer aspire one 751 has no fan while the asus 1101 has a built in fan.
     
    runtohell121, Jul 3, 2009
    #6
  7. coldonline

    coldonline

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    its not the ram.. i changed if for a ddr2 800mhz bus (pc6400) and wouldnt go up 1.45
     
    coldonline, Jul 3, 2009
    #7
  8. coldonline

    TrackSmart

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no fan on the processor as far as I know. The buzzing you hear is the HDD working. It should be pretty quiet...
     
    TrackSmart, Jul 3, 2009
    #8
  9. coldonline

    Bols

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, my 751 has a fan, that is for sure. Not extremely loud, but loud enough that I'm using Aa1FanControl.
     
    Bols, Jul 3, 2009
    #9
  10. coldonline

    40rty

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [/quote]Well, my 751 has a fan, that is for sure. Not extremely loud, but loud enough that I'm using Aa1FanControl.[/quote]


    Alright, so I confirmed and seems like the 751 has a fan. If you put your ear up against where your Microsoft OS sticker under your netbook is, you can clearly hear and feel air being forced out(also heat).
     
    40rty, Jul 3, 2009
    #10
  11. coldonline

    TrackSmart

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, my 751 has a fan, that is for sure. Not extremely loud, but loud enough that I'm using Aa1FanControl.[/quote]


    Alright, so I confirmed and seems like the 751 has a fan. If you put your ear up against where your Microsoft OS sticker under your netbook is, you can clearly hear and feel air being forced out(also heat).[/quote]


    Good to know. It's so quiet I assumed it didn't have one! Plus, the air movement is extremely low.
     
    TrackSmart, Jul 3, 2009
    #11
  12. coldonline

    Felix[GER]

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can confirm this too. Under Windows 7 i´m using "a1ctl" which you can get here: http://nodadev.wordpress.com/pc-projects/a1ctl/

    Like the small icons showing CPU temperature and remaining battery time. The option to disable Webcam and ethernet should safe some battery.

    [​IMG]

    Currently i consider about a RAM upgrade because its so cheap (2GB ~20€). Would you think buying faster 667mhz DDR2 could lead to better overclocking results?
    Actually i´m stuck at 1450mhz like the most here. After reading the Z520-Atom goes up to 1730mhz in the ASUS, i´m on fire :mrgreen:

    Greetings,
    Felix
     
    Felix[GER], Jul 4, 2009
    #12
  13. coldonline

    40rty

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    If only we had pictures of both the Asus and the Acer's internals. I just want to see the way the cooling was setup for both. Like intake and exit path. The Asus's has to be wide open in order to yield that much out of the same CPU's as us. Is it as thin as our's?
     
    40rty, Jul 4, 2009
    #13
  14. coldonline

    Epedemic

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0

    Alright, so I confirmed and seems like the 751 has a fan. If you put your ear up against where your Microsoft OS sticker under your netbook is, you can clearly hear and feel air being forced out(also heat).[/quote]


    Good to know. It's so quiet I assumed it didn't have one! Plus, the air movement is extremely low.[/quote]

    Hmm mine is on 50% of the time and i can hear it clearly... How hot does your cpus get?
     
    Epedemic, Jul 4, 2009
    #14
  15. coldonline

    Felix[GER]

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are some internals of the Asus1101HA: http://translate.google.com/translate?j ... ry_state0=

    I also tested my 751 with PC6400-800 Ram, but i cant get it over 1,45ghz. Damn, even the Sony Vaio P, without a fan can do 1,6ghz :D anyway, moving back to XP with 2GB Ram and the new ...1009 drivers works super well!!! Alot better than Windows7 with the ..1005 ones. Actually making some benchmarks :)
     
    Felix[GER], Jul 15, 2009
    #15
  16. coldonline

    onevoice

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is my first post on this forum, and I enjoyed reading about other's experience using the Acer netbooks.

    I was able to OC my 751h to 1607.8 MHz using the SetFSB v. 2.2.117.88. I ran the wPrime benchmark, and I got 123.906 sec on the 32M benchmark.

    Attached is the screen shot of the SetFSB:
    [attachment=0:3qti2g7e]m160.8MHz.jpg[/attachment:3qti2g7e]
     
    onevoice, Jul 17, 2009
    #16
  17. coldonline

    Felix[GER]

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah thats good to hear! Ours will stop working beyond 145mhz FSB :(
    I bet your 751 is running at 133mhz FSB by default?

    Can you tell more about your hardware? Ram, Bios, ect..

    Greetings,
    Felix
     
    Felix[GER], Jul 18, 2009
    #17
  18. coldonline

    Bols

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine does the same (actually the same clock gives 120 secs for the wprime 32M benchmark). However, it seems this is not a good stability check. When running the blend-test in prime95 it typically stops within a minute or two, claiming rounding errors.
    Could you please try a run at that speed in prime95, of at least an hour or so?
     
    Bols, Jul 19, 2009
    #18
  19. coldonline

    zicada

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a wild guess,- I'll test this later to see for sure.

    Since the only thing that's really different on the asus and acer is the bios,- which sets memory timings among other things,- the reason asus can overclock with increasing the fsb higher than acer could be that the asus bios has looser memory timings by default.

    There are tools for setting looser timings such as tRD. If i'm right,- changing the memory timings up a bit could allow for a higher fsb, and thus higher cpu freq.
     
    zicada, Jul 21, 2009
    #19
  20. coldonline

    Eddyah

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think people have tried using ram with high frequencies and higher timing but it hasn't worked. I think the acer bios will adjust the timings to suit the chosen settings of the ram, so i don't think it's the timings that are bottlenecking the overclocking capabilities.
     
    Eddyah, Jul 21, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.