Help wanted on making partitions when installing Ubuntu

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Wiesje, Nov 1, 2008.

1. Wiesje

Wiesje

Hi there,

Since I got tred of Linpus (recovering over and over again) I thought Ubuntu might be a good idea.
    Following the steps listed on https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Aspir ... 07,2008%20)
    I created an USB stick for installation from a 8.04 Live CD.
    Takes some time (all night) but goes well.

Now I'm in the screen where I can prepare partitions. I've got no clue (yes, I'm a beginner to Linux!)
    I've got 120Gb HD. I planned on creating a 20 GB Ubuntu-partion (enough?) 60 GB Data-partition and wat's left for backup etc.
    Ok, I chose Manual partition. Looks like this:
    /dev/sda
    /dev/sda1 | ext2 | 118953 MB | 4600MB used
    /dev/sda2 | swap | 1077 MB | 0MB used
    /dev/sdb
    /dev/sb1 | fat32 | 4108 MB | 719MB used

My questions:
    1. On wich partion do I create the partitions I want?[/*:m:3rm41adu]
    2. When I chose edit partition, I have to chose Use as: (default 'do not use') what do I chose?[/*:m:3rm41adu]
    3. And I have to chose a Mount point: (/, /boot, /home, /tmp, /usr, /var, /srv, /opt, /usr/local) Wich one to chose?[/*:m:3rm41adu]
    Thanks a lot for helping me out. Ifound a lot of related items, but nothing to answer these questions.

Wiesje, Nov 1, 2008
  2. Wiesje

scottro

It's a bit confusing at first. You can wind up getting 20 different answers.
    As you are a beginner, I would say keep it simple at present.