Help required - trying to access Windows shares with Smb4k

Discussion in 'Linux' started by adam_uk, Oct 17, 2008.

1. adam_uk

adam_uk

Hi

Got the Linux Acer Aspire 8GB SD yesterday, mainly to have a play with it and to try to get to know Linux a little (I'm a Windows sys admin with no prev Linux experience...... please don't hate me) ;) . So far it's going well, love the OS!! I managed to get it running in advanced mode, install a few apps and upgrade Firefox to v3.... all without too much swearing!! :)

Last night however I hit a bit of a brick wall trying to get the Acer to see shared drives on our Windows server. I've tried to trawl through various posts here to see if anyone had posted an idiots guide but could not see one. I've installed Smb4K which I believe will allow me to see the shared drives. Infact when loaded Smb4K see's our Active Directory domain and prompts me for a usename and password when I click on it. When I enter my login details it displays all Servers/PC and I can expand those to see the shares I need to access. All good so far........

When I try to access a share I get the error message - The share "//ITS-SERVER/data" could not be mounted. Details smb4k_mount: Count not find submount binary.

I'm hoping that someone out there will be able to point me in the right direction with this one!! Being a TOTAL newbie to Linux I'm stumped. I tried putting the above error intio Google but haven't found anything!! Found a few docs that seemed to suggest it might be something to do with access rights to folders but I don't really understand how all that works with Linux yet and don't really know where to look to see if that is the case here.....

If anyone knows of a better GUI app that will allow me to access the Windows Shares other than Smb4K then I'm open to that too!!