Google Chrome

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by Mike C, Sep 3, 2008.

  1. Mike C

    Mike C

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just finished installing Google Chrome on my Aspire One with XP. I have played with it on my desktop for a good hour now, and decided to put it on the netbook. Its a slimmer looking browser, which is great with the small screen ;)

    One major flaw though, it does not work well with the aspire one touch pad scrolling. I am able to scroll down, but not back up? I went back to firefox, and the scrolling worked flawless. Back in Chrome, and it only scrolls down again.... On my desktop, it works fine with the scroll wheel on the mouse. Maybe if I change the touch pad settings, I can fix it?
     
    Mike C, Sep 3, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Mike C

    Mike C

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    browser space comparison screen caps

    Chrome, tabs or no tabs its the same size.

    [​IMG]

    Firefox with no tabs open, slightly taller then chrome.

    [​IMG]

    And Firefox with tabs, even taller.

    [​IMG]
     
    Mike C, Sep 3, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Mike C

    npease

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works fine for me and it is really fast!!
     
    npease, Sep 3, 2008
    #3
  4. Mike C

    atarione

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anyone tried it with Wine yet on the A110 linpus?


    edit..meh I guess I might as well actually give it a go? WHAT'S THE WORST THAT COULD HAPPEN ????? :D


    Update..meh don't bother crashes wine Chromesetup.exe

    alright then

    http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.p ... ngId=30815
     
    atarione, Sep 3, 2008
    #4
  5. Mike C

    sl8999

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just tried chrome on my desktop PC at work - it has the same scrolling problem; scrolls down but not up.
     
    sl8999, Sep 3, 2008
    #5
  6. Mike C

    dboy

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah its a great browser for the AAO. although i can't scroll up with the track pad either. its pretty annoying
     
    dboy, Sep 3, 2008
    #6
  7. Mike C

    Nambleruk

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't it still in beta?
     
    Nambleruk, Sep 3, 2008
    #7
  8. Mike C

    shaga

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    So eagerly waiting for the linux version(I have AA1 Linpus)... Hope it arrives soon. ;)
     
    shaga, Sep 3, 2008
    #8
  9. Mike C

    evi1d33d

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    On firefox you can move the navigation and address bar to the top to save some more space.
    [attachment=0:1iqlcmk0]412660d14cfd585e-d187.png[/attachment:1iqlcmk0]
     
    evi1d33d, Sep 3, 2008
    #9
  10. Mike C

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can eliminate the menu bar and shrink it into a small button with addon "compact menu"

    [attachment=0:gnq3vged]autodial.png[/attachment:gnq3vged]
     
    clevin, Sep 3, 2008
    #10
  11. Mike C

    lems

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which one out of Firefox & Google Chrome uses less resourses?

    Also, does Google have spell checker in it like Firefox has?

    I'm just using IE7 for now, as I just got my AA1 and don't want to download things I don't need, but used Firefox on my Eee and loved the spell checker. It seemed to freeze up more than IE with lots of pages open though.
     
    lems, Sep 3, 2008
    #11
  12. Mike C

    clevin

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    lifehacker's tests http://lifehacker.com/5044668/beta-brow ... is-fastest show firefox use less system resource.

    Chrome's spell checker isn't good (yet), half of the time it will show the mistakes, but suggests nothing.

    Still, Its very fast in startup, and operations. You should definitely try it out.

    Its a simple browser tho, only provide basic functions, hey, some people like minimum-istic.
     
    clevin, Sep 3, 2008
    #12
  13. Mike C

    ani88

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're only browsing on IE and/or Firefox, just press F11 to maximize your browser as much as possible.

    I do like Google Chrome's minimalistic style, but right now I don't care too much for it since that inability to scroll up & down with the trackpad is annoying.
     
    ani88, Sep 3, 2008
    #13
  14. Mike C

    hongcho

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried running Youtube video on both Chrome and Firefox (on XP with HDD).

    The video stutters heavily on Chrome, using all of the CPU while it's fine (60~70% CPU) on Firefox.

    I think the Chrome's multi-process approach (thus having to do IPC (e.g., shmem) between the Flash plugin and the browser) needs quite a bit of improvements in external plugin (not just JavaScript/HTML) performance.

    Hong.
     
    hongcho, Sep 3, 2008
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.